Awkward turtles OR meeting strangers from the Internet

It’s been three weeks since I dusted this place off, and let me tell you, that’s been on my mind.

Just yesterday I was thinking about shutting it down completely. These days, my life is actually IRL. Amazing, huh?! And as much as I love reading blogs and updating Twitter, I just haven’t had the time for either. And there was a pretty big part of me that was OK with that.

Until today, when I randomly decided to log in to the gReader for a mini-break at work, and read about a blogger meet-up in Boston, courtesy of the lovely LiLu.

It just so happens I’ll be in town, so with trepidation I added my name to the list. Before I knew it I was thrust into the Boston blogger world — finding tons of new blogs and getting excited about meeting people I’ve been reading for months.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still somewhat terrified. After all, meeting strangers from the Internet is kind of daunting, especially when they’re cool chicks like LiLu and Brookem.

But then I realized that cool people can’t be daunting (it’s a scientifically proven fact), and besides, there’s so much to talk about with all these strangers from the Internetz:

Yoga with Hannah, Just Breathe!

Communications day jobs with Susan!

Mad Men with Julie Q! (Heck, maybe she can remind me how last season even ended?!)

Wisdom teeth with Emrlds (I toooootally should get them taken out)

Who Would Jesus Do? with Jill

Hearing about Ben Affleck from Julie …because her bf, like, MET him and I’m officially in awe.

Being uncoordinated with Hope.

All of that being said, I realized my blog is sorely lacking in personal content. So, for anyone who’s about to meet me (and the even more illusive DD) IRL, or anyone who might someday, here are a few things you should know:

  • I’m socially awkward. Not in a creepy way, but in a “holy shit I have to talk to people?!” way.  So if I’m all awkward turtle at first, don’t worry, I’ll get over it.
  • DD is NOT socially awkward. The man could talk to a wall and it would most likely talk back. He’s an excellent wingman.
  • DD is obsessed with baseball and baseball parks. We’re seeing the Tigers v. Red Sox while in town, which means he’s seeing Fenway for the first time. Expect a lively baseball debate with whomever will listen. And most likely a weeping homage to the greatness that is Fenway.
  • I’m not a shot-caller. No, seriously…shots and I? Do not get along. I’m physically unable to swallow all that junk at once (TWSS). So I swear I’m not lame (mostly), my delicate system just can’t handle the booze. DD on the other hand, CAN do it. And he’s known for being a shot caller.
  • DD is not hip to the blogosphere. Sure he knows I have one, but I refuse to let him read it. I also have a strong suspicion he thinks the whole blogging thing is kind of lame. Don’t worry, I love him anyway.
  • I’m pretty laid back and go with the flow. I won’t be the loudest one in the room, but I’ll be laughing with the loudest one.

If you’re still not satisfied, you can check out my never-quite-completed 101 Things.

See you all in Beantown, and thanks for bringing me out of my blogging hiatus!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Awkward turtles OR meeting strangers from the Internet

  1. I think several of us (me included) are popping our IRL cherries. Which makes it all the better!!

    Whatevs. We’ll have fun. After all, alcohol is the cure for awkwardness, right? And after checking out everyone’s Internet digs, I am SOOO excited to put names to these awesome blogs, yours included!!

    See you Friday!

  2. ria

    i love awkward turtle! and i’m the same way you are socially awkward. i’m sure you’ll have a great time. i’m slightly jealous i haven’t met any bloggers yet (sad face)

  3. Yayyyy, I’m so excited you decided to throw your hat in the ring. We won’t bite, I promise! Well, I might. But you’ll like it. ;-)

  4. I’ve met brookem. More than once. She’s really amazingly sweet. Awesome girl. You’ll have fun. Don’t you worry about being socially awkward as I’m pretty sure those other bloggers will be more than happy to talk through the dead space. Have a great time!

  5. Yay! It is kind of scary meeting strangers for the first time, but it’s so natural after that.

    Can’t wait to meet you on Friday!!

  6. You know, I’ve been going through the same “but my real life’s actually EXCITING now!” thing re: the blog. I hear you on the time thing. I think up blog posts just as often as I used to, but when it comes down to it, I actually have a lot of other stuff to do.

    Have a GREAT time this weekend! Hope it keeps you writing :)

  7. emrlds

    seriously, so excited for friday. i was totally a wreck the first time, too. but once you hop in, there’s no turning back. in fact there is awkward dancing, absurdly loud laughter, and lots of hugs.

  8. omg im THRILLED to meet you! it’s going to be a blast!

  9. I am so excited! As is Jesus!

  10. Seriously excited. Just down a redbull vodka before you get there and all will be good with the world. Can’t wait for tonight!!!

  11. It was so awesome to meet you!!! Come back soon!!

Leave a Reply

