Cabo, Cabo, Cabo

In just five short days, I’ll be leaving on a jet plane for Cabo. Yes, that Cabo. The one on the very tippy tip of Mexico’s Baja Peninsula. The one that boasts highs in the upper 70s while Detroit struggles to make it to a measly 30 this time of year. The one that is featured in like every season of either Laguna Beach or The Hills.

Ah, Cabo.

This will be my first trip to a tropical locale. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for YEARS, but just never got around to. When DD and I started dating, I thought I’d finally found my travel companion, but it’s taken me two years to convince him. The first year, he couldn’t get away from work. The second year, we had to cancel the idea when the economy tanked. Better to save than sun.

Now, finally, there will be sun. And I suppose everything works out for the best. We’d originally planned on the Dominican Republic, but after Haiti, I’m a bit glad we’re not headed there. We’d also planned on an all-inclusive. But then we found a four diamond, luxury, non all-inclusive resort with a deal that seriously couldn’t be beat.

The trip is the only reason I still have a smile on my face this time of year. January and February are rough for me. My (undiagnosed) Seasonal Affective Disorder hits big time and it feels like spring will never come. Breaking up the winter with a little trip to warmer climates is the perfect remedy.

As I think about all the things I need to do before I leave, I get even more excited, but I also get just a wee bit worried.

Things that excite me:

  • My newly purchased sun hat. Because I don’t plan to get skin cancer while I’m laying poolside.
  • The feel of hot sun instead of winter sun, which looks pretty but does nothin’ to warm you up.
  • The books. I had a Borders spree and am stocked up on some great reads to keep me occupied.
  • The sand and its natural exfoliant properties.
  • Couple’s beach side massage?! Maybe…
  • Mexican food (see below for the counteracting worry)
  • Relaxation time with DD. Away from other commitments and other people. Our relationship is best/most intimate/happiest when we’re given some down time together. Like many couples, our lives are jam packed at home and our couplehood certainly takes a hit.
  • Resort wear. My bathing suits and cover ups and sun dresses have been aching to be worn!

Things that worry me:

  • Montezuma’s revenge. I’m stocked up on antibiotics to treat any cases of the queasies that I (or DD) get. I’m especially nervous about water because that’s all I drink and will be in all of my frozen umbrella drinks. While I know to stick with bottled water, I’m still totally afraid I’ll pull a Charlotte and accidentally open my mouth in the shower and be screwed.
  • The transfers. I get irrationally nervous about transportation to/from the airport in any strange city — especially those not in the 50 states. Airport transportation is not included in our reservation.  We’re supposedly all set, but until I’m ensconced at the hotel, I’ll worry.
  • DD’s time. I will successfully unplug from work. He, however, claims that this week is a critical week in a project he’s working on. A project that he didn’t know about when we booked the trip and something that just can’t be helped. Granted, I can sit on the beach without him, but as I said above, the relaxation time together is equally important as my own relaxation time.
  • The money. I’d planned to cash in my American dollars, but then heard from a friend that American dollars will get you everywhere. We’ll decide when we get there, I suppose. Also? Exchange rates confuse me. Hence why I spent nearly $500 on a Prada purse in Italy when I thought it’d be closer to $300 or $400.

While I’m away, this blog will be getting quite a lot of action. I’ve got some awesome guest bloggers lined up who are also becoming real life friends. They’re going to be sharing some of their favorite Michigan/Detroit things. You didn’t think I could stop the Detroit love just because I’ll be gone, did you?

In the meantime, there will be a Friday Foto before I leave. After that, I’ll leave this place in the capable hands of my fellow Michigan bloggers. Be nice and enjoy!

7 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), glass half full, list mania, travel

7 responses to “Cabo, Cabo, Cabo

  1. After our honeymoon, I doubt Sweets and I will ever go to an all-inclusive again. It’s just too limiting (if you’ve already paid for it, why go anywhere else?!).

    Also, that sun hat? Love! I might just have to purchase one for myself for our March vacation. Will you pretty please report back on all the must-haves for a beach vacation? I haven’t taken one during the winter. Ever. I need help.

    Finally? A bit of advice. Check in with your credit card company (and bank for check card, for that matter). A lot of CCs are now charging fees in the range of 1-3% for all international charges. It might effect what you spend and where! Just be in the know!

    Oh and have a GREAT time!!!

  2. Jen

    I can’t wait to hear of your adventures when you return! I’m planning a birthday trip to either Cabo or Puerto Vallarta in April and I’ll be a first timer as well. Have a WONDERFUL trip and remember, keep your mouth closed in that shower! Hehe. :-)

  3. That sounds absolutely heavenly :) And I think your decision to go non-all inclusive is great either way you slice it. I’m sure they’re lovely, but I’ve heard that you tend to feel kind of chained to your hotel because that’s where all of your money has already gone and there’s no reason to go elsewhere. I’ll be this way you get to see a lot more of the area!!

  4. walkingonsunshine18

    I’m so beyond jealous!!!! You’re going to have a fabulous time :)

  5. Have so much fun! I hope that you both can spend a lot of time together despite work. I can’t wait to see your pics!

  6. ria

    hopefully everything goes smoothly. bring back the warmth! please!

  7. There are always things to worry about before a trip but seriously, you’re going to have fun and the weather there will be much better than in the Midwest!

Leave a Reply

