About the Girl

Well, if I’m going to start a blog, I guess I better tell my fine readers a bit about myself. To try to stem my rambling nature, I’ve decided to go the route of a list. Here’s 10 facts about my life that you’ll probably need to know to read my blog. Enjoy!

  1. I’m 26 and live in Detroit. Well, not actually in Detroit, but if I told you the exact suburb, you wouldn’t know it unless you, too, hail from the area. I live three miles outside the city limits but spend 40 hours of my week there working as well as countless others enjoying all that Detroit has to offer. I love my suburb and it’s urban setting complete with a walkable downtown, but I desperately need to be close to a major city, complete with fine dining, posh shopping, and the most theater seats outside of NYC. Each year, I move a few miles closer, so I wouldn’t be surprised if some day soon I close that 3 mile gap for good.
  2. I work for a nonprofit and therefore make little to no money. I love the work, but there are days I wish a knight in shining armor would carry me away — or at least make more money than me so I wouldn’t have to worry so much. I know that’s the most un-feminist thing I can say, but there it is.
  3. I live alone. I swore I could never do it, but here I am. And I love it. Just me, my red couch, a glass of wine, and a Netflix DVD and I’m set.
  4. Speaking of Netflix, I have a severe addiction. Nonprofit salary = no cable, also a first for me. But Netflix keeps me company, and helps me catch up on shows that aired two years ago that I wasn’t cool enough to watch.
  5. Speaking of old television, I’m also the last to catch on to most trends. It probably took me two years to discover the benefits of boot cut jeans in the 90s, and I still haven’t quite caught on to the whole chunky jewelry come-back. I didn’t color my hair until I was a senior in college and I can’t accessorize to save my life.
  6. Four years ago, I had a kidney transplant. Really all that has to be said about that. I’m healthy and happy and grateful I get to live my life. I try not to think of all that could go wrong.
  7. I’m not a dater. In fact, I abhor the very idea of it. I’ve probably gotten into relationships and stayed in relationships far longer than needed just because I didn’t want to grapple with the idea of dating again. I can count the number of relationships I’ve had on one hand and the number of different people I’ve gone on a date with on two hands.
  8. Luckily, my non-dater ways still led me to quite the fabulous relationship with Due Diligence, a.k.a DD. It’s been nearly 9 months and we’re doing better than either of us expected. Every once in awhile he or I have a little freak out due to his relationship inexperience and fierce independent streak, and my general level of craziness. It’s at these times that I’m reminded of how fragile new relationships are and have to do a reality check. But he tries really hard, which is more than I can say for anyone else I’ve been with.
  9. I’m basically an 80-year-old trapped in a 20-something’s body. I knit, do yoga, and read a lot. I like my space. And I’d rather stay in and do laundry on a Friday night than get drunk at the bar.
  10. Like most 20-somethings, I’m riddled with self-doubt. It’s something I need to work on and it helps to know I’m not the only one who faces it.
2 Comments

Filed under About, DD (aka My Man), Detroit, rambling nature

2 responses to “About the Girl

  1. Pingback: Happy Bloggy Bday! « A Super Girl

  2. So I think I should copy this word for word and post it to my blog. I know it’s a few (9) months old, but still, it’s so me.
    #1 = me
    #3 = me, bascially
    #4 = me, totally (but with DVR)
    #6 = although I didn’t have a kidney transplant, I have had my fair share of kidney problems, so not fun!
    #7 = it’s like you are looking into my soul
    #8 = but I’m still single, boo!
    #9 = I can’t get the hang of knitting but everything else is me.
    #10 = do I even need to say anything here? Me, Me, Me, Me!

    …maybe we are related 😉

Leave a Reply

