Supergirl goes shopping

Today I woke up early and hit the core class at my gym, followed by a slow-flow yoga practice. Feeling refreshed, I chose to take on some shopping.

Unlike many women, I’m not a shopper. I’m awful at accesorizing and creating “outfits”. Also, being the frugal person I am, it’s hard for me to part with my money on expensive things like, you know, clothes. I prefer to spend my money in small, $20 amounts. But when I splurge, man do I splurge.

For this trip, I had an objective in mind, which always helps open the wallet. I wanted a cute skirt to wear to my fancy birthday dinner this weekend at Iridescence. In addition, I was interested in perhaps purchasing a cute dress to wear to one of the many weddings I have to attend this summer.

I started at Kohl’s thinking maybe I’d hit the jackpot with an excellent deal. I tried on a few things, but everything just looked like crap. That old adage, you get what you pay for, really hit home.

I was at Limited a few weeks ago and they had some cute dresses/skirts, but it was all ridiculously expensive (which really means it’s a perfectly reasonable price, but more than the $20 I think everything should be priced). This time though, I had a coupon and was more willing to part with cash because, like I said, I had an objective. I walked in and proceeded to take one of every dress and skirt they had on the racks. After a half hour of hemming and hawing alone in the dressing room, I left with these two fabulous dresses that I am beyond excited about.

I’ll be wearing this pinky-red number on Friday for my romantic birthday dinner (identifying facial features have been cropped out to protect the anonymous):

And I’m planning to wear this long, flowy and completely flattering dress to my cousin’s rehearsal dinner in August (perhaps also to another wedding along the way):

I can’t wait! I also ran by Old Navy and stocked up on some essential summer tops and grabbed a Father’s Day present. So overall, the objective was accomplished and I once again feel like a girl who knows how to shop. My credit card, on the other hand, feels like a pathetic, used piece of plastic that’s been swiped more than it cares to be in a 24 hour time span.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Supergirl goes shopping

  1. I love the dresses! I really need to get to old navy to pick up some cheapie flip flops 🙂

  2. Pretty in pink! Happy Birthday!

  3. Court

    so cute! the pink one is my favorite!!!

  4. Oh wow, cute and cuter!! You are going to look just smashing at all of your events 🙂 Happy Birthday to you!

  5. I love the pink one!

Leave a Reply

