A mish-mosh of thoughts

Hi blogosphere! I’ve missed you. I can’t believe it’s been nearly a week since we last talked.

Over the weekend, much of my blogging absence was due to my self-imposed Internet hiatus. This was the first weekend I didn’t have a ton of plans with DD cluttering things up, and as much as I wanted to see him, I was perfectly content spending the first half of the weekend alone.

As part of that, I chose not to turn on the computer. And boy was it lovely. Wanna know what I did? I took two things to the tailor that have needed to be altered for 3 months. I spent a little time in a big leather chair at Starbucks with a cup of tea and a book. I cooked. I cozied up with Netflix. It was all quite heavenly.

The second half of the weekend was dedicated to DD. We met up on Saturday, and while I thought he’d be coming to my place for the night, it turned out there were plans downtown, so down to Detroit I went. We had a decent time and then Sunday woke up and played our first softball game in our new league. Since the game was by my place, we thought of staying at my place that night, but he wanted to watch Entourage at his friend’s place and, well, his place is 4 blocks from work, mine is 15 miles.

I ended up staying at DD’s for the past 3 nights (we went to the Tigers game last night, so it was also a natural fit I’d stay at his place, 2 blocks away from the park). To be honest, the past 3 nights have felt like 3 weeks. After this weekend, I’ve decided that I’m damn sick of packing and that I’m really needing us to come to some sort of compromise that includes spending more time at my place.

Unfortunately, when it comes to our relationship, my place isn’t convenient. It’s not close to work and it’s not close to friends aside from one of my girlfriends. For the most part, I’ve been fine with being the one who usually has to pack a bag. But after last night, I’ve decided I’m over it. Especially after last night happened, and it all came to a mini-head. I would go into more detail, but it’d double the length of this post. So I’ll refrain.

Anyway, this morning I woke up cranky and went to work where I became crankier. As usual, shit went wrong. A brochure I’ve spent over a month on had a typo that got through me, the client, and a proofreader. A letter I wrote got rewritten without some key marketing messaging but no one told me. A headline I’d written for a flyer was equated to something that would be written on a flyer for some scam program, not a nice helpful program like the flyer was advertising. 

It was about all I could do not to run screaming from the building. I can only take so much feeling like my work sucks.

So that’s my week so far. Now I’m trying to decide if I want to broach my frustrations with DD. I got pretty upset with him and while I know I don’t have a right to be mad at him, there’s a bigger issue afoot. I’m really sick of not getting to spend time in my home, and feeling like if I want to, I have to sacrifice our time together. But if we were to start spending time here, it would mean a shift in how and who we spend our time with. Right now, the “how” and “who” are his rules and his people.

I have some ideas, so I just need to find the right time to talk about it with him.

In the meantime, do you have any suggestions on making a two-household situation easier? Short of moving in together, of course. My mother’s not ready for that, and neither is my checkbook.

3 Comments

Filed under career, crazy crazy, DD (aka My Man), glass half empty, Hmm, rambling nature, relationships

3 responses to “A mish-mosh of thoughts

  1. Cog

    Relationships are a two way street or they don’t work. If the burden rides solely on one person, it creates a rift. He needs to sacrifice a little too. It sounds like this is his first real long term relationship, so I’ll cut him some slack… But he needs to learn that it isn’t all about him anymore. It’s “us” now. Guys don’t realize it at first, and it’s a long hard struggle (I’m still coping myself…). So let him know how you feel. He’ll come around. Just don’t rage on his poor unsuspecting ass… 😉

  2. Even if your place isn’t convenient, it’s still only fair to spend some time there and have him come along. Glad you had an internet free weekend 🙂 Sounds like fun!

  3. Pingback: Solutions « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

