A work out rut

I haven’t been to the gym in probably a month. And it’s killing me. But not enough to get me to actually get up and go to the gym.

I think this is what they call an exercise rut.

To be fair, for the majority of the past month, I just haven’t had the time. I’ve been working until 6 or 7, so by the time I leave work, I’m too hungry to just go straight to the gym, or too tired to go home and then head back out to the gym later. And in some cases it’s been a matter of working at the office until 7 and then heading home to work until midnight.

There just hasn’t been room for self-maintenance activities like the gym, or, you know, brushing my hair, really.

But the past two weeks, there has been time. I’ve packed my gym bag with the best intentions of going and have decided against it at the last minute. I’ve thought about heading back out to get in a yoga class, and changed my mind in favor of snuggling on the couch with junk food and TV.

I’ve gotten out of my routine and I can’t get back into it.

I think it has a lot to do with my general gym unhappiness of late. I’ve mentioned before that I want to switch gyms. But I just haven’t gotten around to it. I finally resorted to putting it on my calendar for a lunch hour (it’s near my office) so I’d remember to go and check the new gym out. I did that a week ago, and still haven’t made it over. I just keep postponing it and my gym hiatus just keeps going. Because while I haven’t joined the new gym, I’ve grown out of my current gym and its inconvenient location and class times.

I really need to get off my ass and take care of this. Make a decision and stick to it. I think my fear is that while I think the new gym will better suit my needs, I’m still afraid of making the change. The reasons it fits my needs have to do with its convenience to my office and where I spend a lot of my weekend time due to my relationship with DD. But what if I get a new job? Or my relationship ends? What then?

Yes, I realize the “what then” answer is that I find a new gym again. No biggie. But for the girl who hates change, it’s hard to comprehend gym-hopping (and the exorbitant initiation fees that come with it).

The reality is that this hiatus has illustrated my need for a workout routine change. And I better get off my ass and make it before I completely lose any sort of in-shapeness that I possess.

6 Comments

Filed under decisions, Detroit

6 responses to “A work out rut

  1. It’s that time of the year when people lapse on the gym. Lately, I’ve been struggling to make it too because I’m beat and busy. Getting back into it was so tough.

  2. trendycamper

    Just an idea: By the time you pay the initiation fees, monthly charges, and mileage, wouldn’t it make more sense to buy the equipment for your place? I obviously have no idea of your routine, but I would think an exercise bike/treadmill and some dumbbells might do the trick. Or resistance bands or whatever.

    It’s not like the external motivation of going to the gym has been working lately. Maybe doing it at home will obviate the “hate of change” problem.

  3. Jessica — Good to know I’m not the only one!

    TrendyCamper — Yeah no. I have yoga videos and all that crap at my place…they don’t get used. I do have to physically go out. It’s just that every once in awhile that gets old 🙂

  4. trendycamper

    Fair enough. As you know, I live in the middle of nowhere, so I’ve done the gym v. home calculus and found I’m better off at home.

  5. Ugh, it’s SO hard when you get out of the habit!!! I’ve definitely been in a rut for a while now, and am trying to get myself out of it. I just got the 30 Day Shred DVD, so maybe that’ll be enough to get my heart pumping and the routine kicked off again!!

  6. im right there with you. i think it’s so much easier in the summer… when we’re less covered up, in bathing suits and cute sundresses and we’re forced to keep in shape. at least that’s how it is for me. now i throw on jeans and cords and im good to go, and if i gain a pound or two it’s less noticeable on the OUTSIDE, but damn, i can still feeeel it. blah.

Leave a Reply

