Unexpected

If you haven’t checked out my Tweets today, I’ve got some good news to share.

I got promoted!

The funny thing is, it was completely unexpected. Sure, it’s something I’ve been wanting for years, and my boss knew I wanted it, but she’d made it pretty clear it was nowhere in sight.

Then yesterday, as I was going about yet another average day, she pulled me aside before a staff meeting and told me the good news. Literally pulled me into a hallway to tell me. No formality to mark the occasion. Told me the specifics, congratulated me, and got on with it.

While I stood there with my mouth gaping open.

Not how I thought my first promotion would occur, but still, very exciting. But maybe the unexpected nature is why it doesn’t feel like it’s as big of a deal as it should be. My friend told me I didn’t seem very excited considering how long I’ve wanted this. He’s right, I’m not jumping off the walls and buying rounds of shots for all my friends, but I am blushing every time someone brings it up. I am (figuratively) petting the new title.

And I am excitedly looking forward to the new paycheck. Though that’s another interesting aspect of this whole thing. My new paycheck will by no means skyrocket me to Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous, but it will give me a little extra money to expand my monthly budget. The biggest thing I’m thinking about right now is moving out of my little suburban ghetto apartment and into something a little less likely to be condemned in the next 5 years. 

However, the paycheck also makes me concerned about my precarious prescription situation. I take two very expensive drugs due to my kidney transplant. They aren’t covered by my employer, but because of my (former) income level, I was able to (barely) qualify for patient assistance and get the drugs for free through the companies that make them. 

Now, I will not qualify. Which means I’ll have to approach my employer. When I’ve inquired in the past, they were willing to cover the drugs — if I paid 20 percent of the cost. Which would end up being a couple hundred bucks a month. Who knows if that’d still be the case or if they’d want me to pay more. Or if they’d even cover them. Times are harder than they were 2 years ago. 

Either way, having to pay full price or a copay on these drugs would eat up all of the raise, and potentially more. So, sadly, the question of moving or doing something equally money-sucking, now gets entangled with this stuff. 

So while the promotion is exciting, part of my mind is consumed with figuring out the best way to handle this. I really don’t want to bring this up with my employer until I have to due to privacy and all of that. I really don’t like showing them how much my healthcare costs. I have to reapply for one of the assistance programs next month, so I guess I’ll find out then if I can still qualify. If I can’t, I’ll have to see what my employer can do and what it’s going to cost me. And then I guess I can make a decision about moving. I’m just antsy to move forward.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled overall and this is just a tiny aspect of the grander picture.

But, God. I hope our new President-Elect fulfills his promises and makes some improvements to our healthcare system.

8 Comments

Filed under career, decisions, glass half full, transplant

8 responses to “Unexpected

  1. congrats on the raise, much deserved i’m sure!

    as far as the expensive drugs and our inadequate healthcare system…. i’m desperately seeking a resolution as well. I think about how many people don’t even HAVE coverage (and I’m now recently among them) and my head spins.

  2. Congrats on the promotion!

  3. Congratulations on the promotion! What an icky situation with the meds though… I hope the employer continues to help out with paying for them – what an expensive pain!

    Maybe they could pay you your old check and slip the extra to you under the table so you can stay within the income limits.

  4. A Super Girl

    Allthewine: Ugh, how awful! Hopefully you can get some coverage that doesn’t put you in the poorhouse.

    (army)wife: Thanks!!!

    Rebekah: Thanks! Sadly I know they wouldn’t roll like that…too shady for a reputable organization like mine. We’ll see what happens 🙂

  5. Congrats on your promotion!

  6. Congrats on the promotion, it’s very well deserved!

  7. Congrats on the promotion!

Leave a Reply

