Lessons from the couch

My brain is not quite back to its normal coherence level, but I figured I would attempt to do something productive. Not that taking permanent root on your couch with a pile of Kleenex isn’t productive, but it’s just a different kind of productive.

Anyway, as my Tweets have described, I am sick. And thanks to my awesomely bad kidneys, I’m really not supposed to take lifesavers the rest of you get to enjoy like decongestants and such. Basically, I’m limited to Tylenol for any ache, pain or common cold. Which has always worked just fine, until this past August when I took some for a headache and found myself with a really weird allergic reaction. Which means I’ve decided to conquer this common cold completely drug-free.

Yippee.

But, three days later (five since the cold actually started), I seem to be coming out of the worst of the symptoms and have learned a few lessons along the way:

  • That whole thing about drinking lots of fluids? A wives’ tale. I do not feel it is making the cold pass any quicker.
  • Honestly, drugs? Really don’t do much. I feel about the same as I do when I did take drugs for a cold.
  • I must always live within driving distance of my mother so she can make me our family’s homemade soup. Because that’s a true cure for the common cold, yet I don’t know how to make it. Besides, if I’m sick in bed, why would I spend a day cooking homemade soup? It’s much easier to drive a half hour in a snow storm to eat it at mom’s.
  • Blowing your nose? Also useless. The only thing that provides any relief is laying on your side. Lay on the left side, clear the right side of your stuffy head. Lay on the right, clear the left. All this really means is that I’ve spent the last three days tossing from side to side.
  • A cold is a sure thing to kick your exercise routine into high gear. After Thanksgiving, I was all about the gym. For a day. And then I got sick. Now, my gym bag sits by my door, ready to go, and I just stare longingly at it. It’ll probably be another week by the time I get myself back there. Booo.
  • West Wing DVDs are an excellent way to make the time on your couch spent blowing your brains out (and NOT in a pleasant way), pass by. I’m currently working my way through Season Six.
  • December is the worst time to get sick. So much to do, and here I sit on my couch. My Charlie Brown tree isn’t up, my shopping isn’t started, and I couldn’t even get my shit together to wrap my dad’s birthday present (his birthday was a week ago). Oops.

Tonight my goal is to actually sleep in my bed instead of the couch and sleep through the night.

Shooting for the stars, I know, but I’m feeling good about it.

3 Comments

Filed under rambling nature, too much information

3 responses to “Lessons from the couch

  1. Ew sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. Get some rest and you’ll feel better soon!

  2. ick i have the same cold. i’m so sick of sitting and doing nothing. i hope you are feeling better soon! drink tea it helps my nose unclog a little 😉

  3. Pingback: Happy Bloggy Bday! « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

