Psychic guidance

On Friday, a few of my girlfriends were able to get together for a very rare girls night. In typical fashion, we headed to our favorite psychic for a little guidance. One by one, in we went, searching for answers in the tarot cards our psychics laid in front of us. Sometimes they’re right, sometimes they’re wrong, but it always makes for an entertaining evening.

This time around, I’d say she was 75% on, 25% off. As she lay the first cards down, she said that she sensed I was having anxiety over the man in my life. Which is true. I sort of nodded and she went on to say that she got the feeling he travels a lot (SO TRUE!), and that’s where my anxiety is (SO FALSE).

She eventually got closer to the truth; that my anxiety lies in figuring out whether he’s “the one”. She mentioned that she sees a proposal in the near future (most likely false!) and that the ball really is in my court. This was slightly creepy since the last psychic I saw used the exact same phrase when discussing my relationship. We talked further and she reiterated that she believed DD is the guy (which is similar to what the last psychic said), and that my anxiety is normal!

And yes, this psychic felt more like my therapist and less like your average fortune teller. But that’s OK, these days, I’m looking for insight from anyone when it comes to walking down the aisle.

The other big topic was my career. She saw a big change in the next year, and also saw relocation as a possibility. As she put down the cards and continued down the path, all I could think was that I am definitely getting fired. After all, we are going through layoffs someday soon; it’s on my mind. I asked whether these “big changes” would be my choice or by force and she quickly reassured me it would be my choice and that she doesn’t see me losing my job.

Then again, as Ursula would say, we basically pay them to say nice things, so if she did see a layoff speeding down the highway of my life, I doubt she would bring it up.

The things they pick up always fascinate me; most notably this time was the thing about DD’s travel. There’s nothing in my body language that suggests that, and she hadn’t gotten to far in her fishing when she sussed it out. Still, at the end of the day, it’s by no means a science and serve my entertainment quota for the week.

Entertainment that I’m sure made each of us a little more thoughtful that night.

4 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Hmm, relationships

4 responses to “Psychic guidance

  1. reederscorner

    That’s so cool that you went to a psychic! I’ve always wanted to go to one but I’m too nervous to hear about my future.

  2. you know what’s hilarious? i’ve totally been to the boston tea room. it’s been a couple years now but i’ve been wanting to go back!

  3. I have to be honest, I don’t know if I want to go to a psychic. I’m almost a alittle afraid of what she’ll say.

  4. Pingback: A weekend of conversation « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

