Wardrobe malfunctions

These days, it seems like I get dressed every morning, only to throw a shirt on and realize it barely covers my belly button. And that’s if I stand completely still and hunch over ever so slightly.

I’m a thin girl, so I buy my shirts in Small or Medium because otherwise I look like I’m wearing my boyfriend’s shirt — and not in a cute way. But then, they’re too small to cover my decent-sized assets (read: boobs) AND reach all the way past my waistband to cover the muffin top. Because even us thin girls have the muffin top, and even if I didn’t, I really don’t like having to re-adjust (read: yank) my shirt down every 5 seconds to avoid baring flesh at work.

I’ve noticed this wardrobe issue off and on over the years, but for some reason, it’s really starting to bug me. It seems like almost every day I’m tossing another shirt into the donate pile. This spring will have to include massive amounts of shopping to replace all the clothes that have shrunk or, let’s face it, only fit right when I was trying before buying and now don’t cover the necessary landscape. And speaking of shrinking clothes, I wash shirts in cold water with very little or no dryer time and they STILL shrink. I don’t understand. 

And don’t even get me started on blouses. I can’t even tuck a button down shirt into my slacks without the shirt riding up. I don’t understand how others around me can achieve this mysterious tucking-in fashion statement and yet my shirts must inevitably be left untucked and sloppy looking.

Seriously, the only shirts I’ve found that truly fit right and are long enough are the cheapy ones at Old Navy. Which work sometimes, but every once in awhile, I’d like a blouse or sweater to fit right, too.

/endrant

Please tell me I’m not the only one struggling with this issue.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Wardrobe malfunctions

  1. I get my tshirts at Pitaya (there’s one in Royal Oak). They are extra long so there’s no adjusting!

  2. You are not alone. I’ve been dealing with some weight gain lately. And I just don’t want to buy new clothes. So, yeah. I’m there with ya on not feeling comfortable in my own clothes.

  3. I totally understand. I don’t have boobs, but I do have a long torso, which makes finding long enough shirts difficult. I’ve also found that the Old Navy shirts are a great length and just layer them underneath sweaters and other shirts to give them a couple extra inches!

  4. i wear old navy tank tops under a majority of my shirts, i sort of love them. and you are definitely not alone in the shirt department, it’s pretty annoying sometimes.

  5. I have an issue with buttons on dress shirts because the boob area always has a window open. I’ve had to put a few clips around the boobs to keep it all closed up.

  6. Too funny!! I’ve been sitting here all day trying to make sure I’m not showing any skin… if I buy my shirts so they fit everywhere else, my boobs bust OUT. Not cool!

Leave a Reply

