28

Yesterday, I turned 28. Another year down, many to go.

As I’m sure many of you can relate to, the birthdays seem to hold less meaning with each passing year. I remember the years when I had gift lists a mile long and friends took me out to celebrate the big day. When I counted down the days as if it was the biggest holiday of the year. Because it was!

This year, I couldn’t come up with 5 things I wanted and the only “friend” I celebrated with was my boyfriend.

It was a low-key weekend. We watched the Wings lose Lord Stanley on Friday and then met my parents for breakfast on Saturday. We checked out a loft in Detroit that I’m thinking about renting and then lounged the afternoon away. DD took me to the traditional fancy dinner we do for birthdays, this time to The Rattlesnake Club on Detroit’s riverfront. Today, we spent a lovely afternoon with his family, playing cards and enjoying the good weather.

There were moments when I wished there was more celebration, when I wished my girlfriends had taken me out and we’d enjoyed a long night at the bar like the good old days. But as I was expressing that to DD, I realized that actually wasn’t what I wanted anymore. Sure, I wished I’d had my friends to celebrate with, but instead of a bar night, it would have been nice to spend some QT with them, playing games and sharing a bottle of wine.

But mushroom bisque and pan roasted duck breast, followed by a leisurely drive along the lakefront with my main man was a good substitute.

Here’s to 28.

10 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit

10 responses to “28

  1. Happy Birthday! Sounds like a great day!

  2. ria

    HAPPY, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!! I hope it was fabulous šŸ™‚

    I love my birthday no matter how old I get or how low key the weekend is šŸ™‚

  3. happy belated birthday and yay to birthdays. i think i’ll always love them, they’re lovely.

  4. happy birthday to you!!! (even though i’m a little late)

  5. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! Cheers to another year!

  6. Cog

    welcome to a new year.

  7. reederscorner

    Happy Birthday!!!

  8. Happy BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!! 28 will be FABULOUS! šŸ™‚

  9. There was a moment there where I thought you watched the movie, Wings, for your birthday. And I thought that was kind of depressing, no? haha. Can you tell I’m taking Vicodin for the pain in my elbow? Too bad I don’t have the excuse of taking it today … though I did take some yesterday. Happy belated birthday! 28 was one of my best years – hope it will be for you, too!

  10. I know I’m late, but Happy Birthday! It sounds like you had a nice weekend, even if it wasn’t EVERYTHING that you might’ve liked. Yay for 28!!!

Leave a Reply

