Movin’ on up

For the past month or so, I’ve become fed up with good ole Landlord S. I’ve finally decided I’m moving.

But then becomes the question of where. I LOVE my current neighborhood. I can walk to coffee shops, restaurants, my nail/facial salon, etc. However, given the trendy nature of it, I can only afford an old apartment. And I’m kind of a modern gal. But, the modern hip and trendy lofts in my neighborhood start at $900 and up/month — and that’s for small ones.

Then there’s downtown Detroit. Where I work. Where DD lives. Yet, it’s not quite as walkable. Still somewhat walkable, but not as much as my neighborhood. There’s also less foot traffic downtown. Which makes me feel ever-so-slightly less safe. But on the flip side, I can afford a more modern apartment because it’s not as hip and trendy.

So I’ve looked at two places, an old place in my current neighborhood that’s a slight upgrade from my current locale…and a modern-ish loft downtown.

Now comes the decision process. Here’s a list of pros and cons to each neighborhood/apartment. Asterisks indicate the reallly important things.

Option 1: Current neighborhood

Pros: walkability*, things open at normal hours, familiarity/enjoyment of  neighborhood*, central to entire region (which is important when your region lacks mass transit), cheaper than Option 2; walk-in closet

Cons: new apartment would not be much of an upgrade from current sitch; several hundred less square feet than Option 2; hate the kitchen

Option 2: The D

Pros: walking distance to work (save on gas $$)*; walking distance to DD*; more potential for making new girlfriends (I’d actually be starting from scratch in current neighborhood)*; modern appliances and loft-style look; central air; washer/dryer in unit; open/spacious kitchen

Cons: Some businesses operate odd hours/closed on weekends; slightly less walkable; less general foot traffic; feel slightly less safe walking alone at night; no window in apt. bedroom; more expensive both in rent and utilities

There’s a part of me that feels I should look at more than two places. But I feel like I know the rental market in both neighborhoods and have picked the options that would be comfortable for me. Plus I really don’t feel like dragging this process out for a month.

So, where would you live?

7 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), decisions, Detroit, Hmm, Landlord S

7 responses to “Movin’ on up

  1. reederscorner

    A walk in closet would seal the deal for me!

  2. Court

    Which apt in the current neighborhood?

  3. I dunno…I would look at some more options. I know you think you’ve found the best of each neighborhood, but there is a possibility that you’re missing an awesome place that’s better than either option. Just a thought.

    That being said, if you’re keeping it to these two, I would go with the downtown option. It just seems like it would be more beneficial. You’ve got more pros and more *important pros at Option 2. God luck to you in whichever decision you make!!!

  4. Cog

    check what livin’ in the D would do to your taxes… i hear they have some very, very interesting ways of taking your money…

  5. ria

    hmmm well i would probably stay in the current neighborhood, but only because i’m not much of a city girl. my friend lives in a condo off jefferson. it’s really cool, they hang out on the roof in the summer but there isn’t much to walk to around there, though the roof overlooks the river.

    let us know what you decide! 🙂

  6. The current neighbourhood sounds decent. I’d hate not to feel safe walking on the street. How much time do you spend in your kitchen?

  7. I grew up in Michigan but know very little about Detroit. I spent most of my time in the ‘burbs. I’m just figuring out there are actually fun places to visit downtown. What are some of your suggestions?

Leave a Reply

