The things I do to be liked

I’ve noticed a couple bloggers discuss how they’ve adopted the Summer of Yes. Wish I could think of who they were and provide subsequent links, but alas, I can’t. Just know it’s not my unique thought — yet it’s something I’ve taken up as well.

I’ve mentioned before that friendships are an area I’m sorely lacking in these days. And so, when summer began I told myself that I’d start putting myself out there more.

What has that entailed? Let’s take a look, shall we?

Taking up spinning. Some of my fellow downtown ladies take a weekly spinning class. I swore I would NEVER do it. Those spinners are hard core and I’m much more comfortable in a nice, soothing yoga class. But, I’d like to get to know these girls better, and so I said ‘yes’ when they asked. What’s a little ass uncomfort in the quest for new friends?

New book club. It was a recommendation from the girl who runs my current book club — which is full of retirees. So, having only met this girl about 4 times in my life, I took her up on her offer and showed up to the book club she recommended. I walked into a restaurant and was faced with approximately 12 people I’d never met before. Walking into a situation like that was a HUGE step for me, but after one round of it, I’m looking forward to our next meeting.

Travel, travel, travel. DD’s female friends have planned several trips and activities this summer and I’ve said ‘yes’ to every. single. one. I’ve always been hesitant to get close to them — after all, who knows where DD and I will land and I’ve been through the whole break up with the boy, break up with his friends routine. But we seem pretty stable, and I think it’s time to start seeing these girls as MY friends, too.

Blogger meet-ups. Walking into a room full of strangers is definitely NOT my idea of a good time. But I said ‘yes’ and ended up adding a heap o’ fun to my Boston vacay.

The downside of all this saying yes is that I’m utterly exhausted. I’ve got something every weekend through September. Which is good, but I also know that when I extend myself too much, I end up getting sick and being completely sidelined. I can feel it creeping up on me right now, and there’s a long way to go before I can hibernate for the winter.

But, if I’m ever going to develop new friendships, I’ve got to keep putting myself out there whenever possible. Hopefully my immune system can take it.

6 Comments

Filed under glass half full, list mania, relationships, Uncategorized

6 responses to “The things I do to be liked

  1. ria

    i’m still really jealous of your blogger meetup lol i think you are making a great effort to develop new friendships, i think it’s awesome. i should probably do that too…

  2. “if I’m ever going to develop new friendships, I’ve got to keep putting myself out there whenever possible.”

    This is exactly how I feel too.

  3. im really glad you said “yes” to the blogger meetup! it was so nice meeting you.

  4. Meeting new friends is oh so tough, especially as we get older. (Sorry, did I just make us sound like we’re 75?) But, it sounds like you’re doing all the right things! Most especially coming out in Boston!! Now, if only you lived HERE rather than THERE… 🙂

    Good for you for putting yourself out there, though. That first step is, by far, the hardest part.

  5. These sound like great things to be doing right now. Spinning sounds like fun, I’ve heard good, intense things about it.

  6. Sounds like you had a fabulous time in my second of three hometowns, Boston. Here’s hoping you had an equally great time in my first hometown, Chicago!

    And I love the idea of taking up something new. It doesn’t have to be huge. And you don’t have to stay committed to everything if you don’t like it. But, by the end, if you’re doing one or two new things … well, that’s just fabulous.

    By the way, it’s taken me a little while to catch up on blog reading after my vacation. I’m still plowing through. Forgive me for one comment to cover all the blog posts I missed. =)

Leave a Reply

