Just because I can

Stolen from Just a Titch. You know, because I can. And because it’s Monday and I can’t be expected to come up with anything resembling interesting.

Outside my window…
Is the schmancy Detroit YMCA. I bet you never thought a Y could be schmancy, but it is in Detroit. Amazing, I know.

Also outside my window is a view of Detroit’s very own mass transit, the Detroit People Mover. Which goes in a 1 mile loop around the downtown area and is really only good for hauling suburbanites who only come downtown for Red Wings games and are too scared to walk the four blocks from the restaurant district to the arena.

But I digress…

I am thinking…
About how behind I am at work. And about how I should be working tonight instead of spending time with DD, but I just don’t wanna.

I am thankful for…

My job. DD. My health. My parents. My life.

From the kitchen…
It was a Kraft Mac & Cheese night. Because while Mondays don’t allow for good blog posts, they also don’t allow for cooking.

I am wearing…
Pajamas. Because that’s pretty much what I wear every night after work.

I am creating…
This. Obvi.

I am going…
To watch Sopranos tonight.

I am reading…
Eat, Pray, Love. Yes, it took me this long to get to it, and yes it’s great.

I am praying…

For friends.

I am hearing…
Nothing. Seriously, no TV, no iPod, no nothing tonight. This is what happens when you get home, make mac & cheese, and immediately get back on the computer to get more work done.

Around the house…
There are piles of laundry that need doing. A bathroom that needs cleaning. And errands for housewares and groceries that sorely need running.

One of my favorite things…
Is my new carpet from Ikea. Because it’s shag. And kind of fabulous.

A few plans for the rest of the week…
Pedicure tomorrow. Hopefully yoga on Thursday. Actually staying in town this weekend (a first in nearly 3 weeks!)

6 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit, list mania, loft style living, me! me!

6 responses to “Just because I can

  1. Eat, Pray, Love- this is on my must read list, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. You’ll have to let me know what you think!

  2. Your shag rug made me think of “Shag” the movie, and now I have a craving to see it. Shoot. Netflix—where are you in my favorites folder?!?!

  3. Pedicure! Color me jealous…

  4. 1. People mover…”is really only good for hauling suburbanites who only come downtown for Red Wings games and are too scared to walk the four blocks from the restaurant district to the arena.” This makes me smile when I consider who you were as a person a mere three years ago.

    2. Elizabeth Gilbert probably gave the most influential/moving speech I’ve heard on the topics of creativity, genius, and art at last year’s TED convention. If you haven’t seen it, you need to watch it NOW: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86x-u-tz0MA

  5. ria

    i need to go to ikea, have you seen their new catalog? 🙂

  6. Oh, what a fun post! Eat, Pray, Love is a fantastic book. Enjoy it! And enjoy your pedicure!

Leave a Reply

