Miles to go…

Having barely driven since moving in July, I apparently decided to make it up to my poor neglected clunker of a Taurus this weekend. Though the long weekend was relaxing, there was a lot of driving involved.

Friday — A three hour drive to Grand Haven to see my friend, her hubby, and their new baby. Who is crazy cute. In other news, I learned that I in fact do possess the mother gene as I was able to (a) hold the child without dropping her, (b) calm the crying child down, and (c) put the child to sleep. This is all very good news for both DD and our unborn children.

My labor day visits to Grand Haven usually include beach time, but alas, having a 2 month old baby in the house doesn’t allow for such frivolities. Which I was slightly bummed about. Sometimes it sucks being an adult.

Saturday –Three hour drive home. Followed by me driving the ole Taurus to a wedding reception. When DD and I are going somewhere together, he usually does the driving (holla for traditional gender roles), but for some reason, he wanted me to.

The reception was beautiful. An outdoor, casual affair with a dessert and coffee bar. Since I knew approximately 2 people at the shindig, and since the mosquitoes were out and I have a grave fear of contracting West Nile, DD and I did our time, had some yummy eclairs and made it home in time to fall asleep in front of the Sopranos.

Sunday — Labor Day bbq with the fam. The more time we spend with DD’s fam, the more I dig them. Though there was a small misunderstanding that caused his 7-year-old nephew to tease me relentlessly (and then flip his shoe at my face) that had me all riled up. Apparently I, too, have the mentality of a 7-year-old because I soooo stooped to that little bugger’s level.

Sunday evening brought a bit of a scare when DD went out for his evening run. Luckily he’s OK, but the situation could have turned out so, SO much worse.

In related news, I love Detroit and all, but there are many, many times when my city and its residents just piss me off.

Monday — Mostly nothing. Though the car got a few more miles on it when I dragged DD to IKEA in search of a bookcase to fill up some empty space in the loft. We found something that I think will look great, though it means I’ve now got about 4 different wood finishes going in my apartment. I never claimed to be a design diva.

And with that, the car is back in the garage for awhile.

6 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit, family values, loft style living, rambling nature, travel

6 responses to “Miles to go…

  1. What a productive weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I remember the first few times I held my nephew and had similar realizations of relief that A. I could hold a child without dropping it or jostling it too much, and B. said child actually…kind of…sort of…seemed to like me. Frightening and fantastic realizations indeed.

  2. ria

    wow busy weekend. yes being an adult sucks when you have to change traditions cuz of babies. hehe ๐Ÿ™‚ it was such a relief to find i did have some sort of mothering gene. i think you are brave going to ikea. i don’t know why i still have this thought in my head it’s still a madhouse ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wow sounds like a crazy busy but fun weekend! Boo for it being over.

  4. Sounds busy, but fun! I’m glad DD is okay after whatever happened for his run and that you got a suitable bookcase picked out. I’ve got about a million different wood finishes in our house–I like it better than all the same, that’s just boring!

  5. reederscorner

    Sounds like a great long weekend – you should def. post the bookshelf!

  6. I luuuuurve IKEA. But that’s exactly why we got everything in the black-brown finish… I’m not stylish enough to coordinate!

Leave a Reply

