Renewal

October has come in like a lion, hasn’t it? This weekend, Detroit was faced with rain and cold, with the occasional pop-in by the sun just to remind us that fall isn’t a totally heinous season.

It got me to thinking. Lots of my favorite bloggers have waxed on about their love of fall. I used to be strictly a summer gal myself, but as I’ve gotten older, I find myself appreciating all of the seasons.

In fact, DD was quite surprised this weekend when I told him that I can’t wait for the first blizzard to hit the D.

I know, I’m not quite right in the head.

But really, it’s true. (Both the mental insanity part AND the blizzard part). Maybe my attention span has shortened over the years, but after a couple months I’m ready to move on to the next thing. Ready for the leaves to turn. Anxious to cuddle up next to DD and watch the first snowflakes fall. Waiting with baited breath for those first buds to appear every spring.

For some reason, fall has surfaced as one of my new favorites. The perfect sleeping weather, the sweaters, the scarves.

It’s a good season, this thing they call fall. And there’s a lot of good that it brings this year.

  • This weekend, DD and I are heading to Chicago so he can run his first marathon. I’m excited and nervous for him. The last few weeks have been hit or miss training-wise and he’s battling aches and pains, but he’s counting on the race day adrenaline rush to take him over the finish line.
  • Family is coming into town later this month and then again over Thanksgiving.
  • My housewarming party is just a couple weeks away — 3 months after I moved in.
  • The end is in sight for the insanity that is my work life. I didn’t work all weekend, and didn’t work late nights last week. It’s a start.

It’s a new season. The leaves may be dying and the cold air may be wooshing by in preparation for winter hibernation, but the smell of renewal and change is in the air. And isn’t that the best part of any season?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Renewal

  1. I love all the seasons too. Except for summer. And most of winter. And the start of spring.

    So basically fall, and the middle of spring? I can mostly agree with this ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. justatitch

    I so agree—Fall is a time for renewal and letting go. It’s gorgeous.

    It really is. And I’m hoping to let go of the craziness that has been summer!

  3. Good luck to DD this weekend! There is something almost soothing about fall. Like, taking time to slow your life down and look ahead.

    Thanks!! And…exactly. Slowing down sounds so great these days ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Chicago is a great first marathon. I ran it twice (and three others, so I have room to compare!). It’s a flat course. TONS of people cheering along the way. Well staffed. Easy to watch if you’re an observer (easy to get to multiple spots along the course). AND, it’s only supposed to be in the 40s here on Sunday … while that probably sounds stupid cold to the person stuck watching, as a runner, it’s great! Not too hot, but warm enough that your body warms up! Have a great trip and bring lots of layers!!!

    Yep, I’m getting pretty excited! I did check the weather, and frankly, 40 doesn’t sound horrible! At least as a spectator, I can duck into a bar along the way ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

