The view from here

One of my favorite parts of my apartment is this:

My view

It took me several days to capture it in the right light — photography is not my expertise — but I persevered. I’ve been wanting to get the view from my loft on film since I moved in.

While it’s the “less expensive” view in my building, it’s the better view. It’s dynamic and urban. It’s soft light that only adds to the ambiance of a quiet evening at home. In the summer, it was flashes of fireworks on a Tigers game night and sounds of cars and clubs on an average Friday evening. In the winter, I imagine it will be serene and hazy as the snowflakes fall.

It’s no wonder I’m excited for the season’s first snow storm.

This is the Detroit I love.

8 Comments

Filed under Detroit, glass half full, loft style living, love affair, Uncategorized

8 responses to “The view from here

  1. detroit is beautiful, but i already knew that 😉

    That it is, my dear 🙂

  2. Oh, how you’re making me yearn for my old loft. I loved the real urban feel of it!

    BTW, I also love that you’re not just one of those people who wants Detroit to be revitalized, but hovers under the safety net of the suburbs. You are one of those genuine people who are living it out … love love love it!

    Thank you!! Though I have to say I still love the suburbs. After all, they’re the ones with the big box grocery store!!

  3. What a beautiful view! I bet you see a lot of activity from up there. That’s what’s so neat about living downtown!

    The cement track you see is our little mass transit train that goes in a loop around the downtown area. On a typical night, it’s not heavily used. But on a Red Wings game night, it’s so fun to watch the crowds pass by my window, crammed in the train!

  4. ria

    see detroit is beautiful it just needs the right lighting! is that the people mover?

    Why yes it is!

  5. That photo is gorgeous.

    Thank you ma’am 🙂

  6. that’s really pretty.

  7. Aww what a great picture, take another one when the snow falls, I would love to see the change in view.

  8. Pingback: On Detroit 1-8-7 « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

