On goals

Lately, I’ve been feeling rather unmotivated.

I’m coming off of a couple intense months at work, and though I have lots still to do, none of it is critical, deadline-driven work. Which means that for the past two weeks, I’ve been playing it pretty fast and loose. Getting to work late. Leaving on time. Not accomplishing much in the time I’m there. Obviously a mental break I needed, but it’s annoying to know you’re not accomplishing anything…and yet do nothing to correct the situation.

In addition, when I get home, I’ve just been foraging for whatever junk is in the fridge and laying on the couch. I think my body is craving rest, but I also recognize that my gym schedule has all but gone down the toilet and my sleep schedule seems off. Like, up ’til 2 a.m. on a Tuesday, off.

I’ve been thinking I’d like to channel Nilsa and set up some personal improvement challenges for myself. I was reminded of it again today when SLynnRo wrote about NoImYoSeMo. Instead of NaNoWriMo (Nat’l Novel Writing Month for you non-writers out there), she does November Improve Yourself Month.

I love the idea of it, but know that I? Am not one to keep up with goals I set. I blog about this whole lack of motivation or lethargy I feel every so often…and then promptly do nothing about it.

But the thing is, there are glimpses of activity. Like tonight. There was a hearty cardio workout followed by a quiet, homemade, healthy meal. If only I could do that 4 out of the 7 days of the week, I’d be a happy girl.

 

P.S. — Thanks all for the kind words about the whole mother/daughter drama that I wrote about earlier this week. We spoke and seem to have ironed things out. It was really less of an issue of the argument itself, and more an issue of her being hurt and me not recognizing that detail. And like I said, the situation did give me a chance to reflect on my relationship with my parents, and it’s something I’m committed to improving. Maybe that should get added to my challenge list?!

5 Comments

Filed under family values, Hmm, rambling nature

5 responses to “On goals

  1. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in life, it is that you’re much less likely to achieve one lofty goal than you are to achieve a set of much smaller goals.

    You’re not working out much at all right now. If you say, “I need to workout 4 days a week” … you’re more likely to give up altogether if it looks like you’ll only workout 2 days a week. So, why not start with a simple goal. Workout 2 days this week. And then if you’re feeling good about it, add another day the following week. If not, stick to 2 days a week until you’re at a point where you’re ready to add that third day. You might be more willing to just do it if it seems easier to build into your life.

  2. I feel like I am constantly making goals and not meeting them as well. I think Nilsa is right – start small! 🙂 Good luck 🙂

  3. walkingonsunshine18

    I’ve been so busy at work that when I come home I drop everything by the door and just relax… Bad, I know, but sometimes you need to just chill and relax. Don’t worry, we’ll both get through it! LOL

  4. I am SO with you on the exercise/good dinner 3-4 nights a week… if only I could do that! And then not have my nightly 3 glasses of wine afterwards… sigh.

  5. Well, you know who to contact if you ever want to do a yoga challenge! 🙂

    My “improve myself” month usually comes in January. The whole end-of-holidays and start-of-the-new-year thing always kicks me into a whirlwind of goal-setting. You’re smart to do this BEFORE the holidays madness and exhaustion sets in.

Leave a Reply

