Goal-setting

I’ve never been good with goal-setting. Just ask my boss. Several times a year, we bicker and banter through the process, with me inevitably getting frustrated and her laughing her evil Miranda Priestly laugh.

It’s not fun.

Personal goal-setting is about the same for me. I think about it, but I don’t do anything about it.

But I’ve decided it’s time to try something different. I’m hoping that by putting it out there in the big ol’ blogosphere, maybe I’ll keep up with some of them!

Goal 1: Up the cardio
I was reading in article in SELF that proposed aiming for 350 minutes of cardio per week. I know I can’t commit to anywhere near that much gym time, but it did renew my interest in being healthy. So I’m committing to 3 days a week of 30-60 minutes on the elliptical or bike.

Goal 2: Get back into yoga
It’s been months since I was on any sort of regular yoga schedule, and even longer than that since I’ve been to class more than once in a week. But I do want to make a concerted effort to get back to a weekly class, with the hope of one day getting back to a couple times a week. I have a feeling this is the goal that’s most likely to falter, though, but let’s give it a whirl.

Goal 3: Better sleep schedule
I’ve been staying up until 12 or 1 and waking up after 8. Lucky for me, I have a flexible work schedule…but I would like to become a slightly better morning person. So my goal is to get to bed by 11 (11:30 at the latest). On the flip side, I’m aiming to wake up around 7:30 instead of 8:15.

Goal 4: Forge a more adult relationship with the fam
I’ve realized that much of my relationship with my parents is still the parent/child relationship. I rely on them for a lot, and don’t really offer much in return. So my goal is to invite one or both of them to one event a month, outside of our usual or already planned get togethers. This month for example, I invited them to come to my house for dinner. In the 3+ years I’ve been on my own, I have yet to have them over for a meal. Maybe other months will just be a movie or something small, but for me, this is about making plans and fitting them into my life more than I have been.

Those are the goals. All goals I think I can handle. In fact, I gave myself a week before posting to see if I could actually do them. And I did! Now let’s just hope I can keep up with them in week 2.

10 Comments

Filed under family values, glass half full, list mania, S is for sports, Uncategorized, Y is for Yoga

10 responses to “Goal-setting

  1. I think those are great goals! I bet you will get into the swing of working out and doing yoga right away! 🙂 That what seems to happen to me – I get addicted to exercise.

    We’ll see, I tend to get un-addicted to exercise, hence my lack of motivation!

  2. Wow, 350 minutes of cardio seems like a ton! Maybe I’ll try that one week but doubt I could keep it up for real long.

    It’s 60 minutes for basically 6 days. Impossible!

  3. Great goals. I’ve just started taking a weekly yoga class and so far I really like it. You’ll get back into a routine soon enough!

    Thanks, I hope so!

  4. I about poked my eyes out when I saw what SELF recommends. I’m sorry, but sometimes I think the advice these magazines gives is completely unrealistic. That is, unless you don’t have work or school or children to take up most of your hours in any given week. I’m glad to see you’re being very realistic about your goals. How about giving us a weekly update just so you stay accountable for actually achieving them?!? =)

    I will!

    • A Super Girl

      Regarding the SELF article….seriously! The article offers exercise options if you only have 20, 40 or 60 minutes a day and need to get something in to meet the 350 weekly goal. So at first I was like, I can totally do this! And then I realized that you really have to do basically 60 minutes 6 days a week. There’s no room for a busy day that leaves you only able to get in 20 minutes. Completely impossible!!

      And I do plan to update. I’ve already completely stalled on the getting up early part this morning. But tomorrow’s another day 🙂

  5. Cog

    you can DOOOOO it! be an inspiration to the rest of us poor job seeking saps…

  6. Those are great goals. I know what you mean about putting them out there- once you write them down, they are real.

    Good luck!

  7. Even if you go to yoga just once a week, it’s better than nothing, right? It’s not like you have to try to dive into a 4-times-a-week schedule. Bit by bit, right? Bit by bit.

  8. Dude, those are totally awesome goals! My goal at the moment is to keep my dog from eating my computer. I like to aim high.

  9. Pingback: Never too late for resolutions « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

