Goal setting: Update 1

We’re into week 2 of the official goal watch here at House O’ Super Girl, so let’s check in with our fearless leader…

To keep track, I’ve decided to go by a color system to give you the easy update — green means accomplished; yellow means stalled; and red means not done at all.

Clever, right?

Goal 1: Up the cardio

GREEN!

The goal was 30-60 minutes, at least 3 days a week. Accomplished last week, and on par for this week. Lessons have been learned along the way. Stretching is a must, and variety is key. I’m noticing it’s getting harder to accomplish the same thing week after week, when it should be getting easier. I think I just need to switch up what I’m doing.

I also hit a wall last Wednesday, when I dragged myself to the gym at 9 p.m., and slogged through 30 minutes on the elliptical. It was the worst 30 minutes of my life. Other lessons learned: time of day matters and Law & Order is not a good show to work out to.

Goal 2: Get back into yoga

YELLOW.

I was aiming for one class a week. Easy, right? Last week was a no-go because my car was in the shop. This is actually a lame excuse because I could have easily picked up a class at the YMCA behind my apartment, but? I hate their classes. And I was lazy.

This week, however, I’m on track. Yoga was tonight, so I can cross this goal off for the week!

Goal 3: Better sleep schedule

This gets a RED and a GREEN because there were actually two components.

Component One was getting to bed before 11:30 every weeknight and reading instead of falling asleep to the TV. With the exception of a much needed late night grocery run last night, I’ve met this goal every night with flying colors.

Component Two was waking up before 8 a.m. Which gets a big fat FAIL. This has honestly been the hardest of all the goals I’ve set and it’s really weighing on me. In most cases, I’m not OVER sleeping until 8, I’m fully awake, but refuse to get out of bed. (Yes, my bed is THAT comfortable).

I suppose you could say it’s an accomplishment that I’m no longer sleeping through until 8, but I’ve really got to work on the whole getting out of bed thing. And so far this week, I don’t seem to be doing any better. Any suggestions on meeting this goal would be a huge help!

Goal 4: Forge a more adult relationship with the fam

Yellow.

I’ve done my part, now it’s just a matter of my parents getting back to me with schedules — and agreeing to hang out with me in the first place! Sad, but true.

My first foray into this goal was inviting them to my house for dinner. I’ve repeatedly asked them for dates that work for them and offered dates that work for me. They just aren’t getting back to me. To be fair, they’ve undertaken some home improvement projects of late, and we have hoards of family coming into town next week, so I imagine stress is high. I’m hoping after Thanksgiving, we’re able to get together. In the meantime, I’ve offered my services this weekend to help them get their house put back together.

All in all, a mixed bag. My biggest issue right now is getting up early. Every morning I kick myself for not getting out of bed sooner. Every evening I go to sleep with every intention of getting up earlier the next day. And every morning comes around and there I lay, contemplating life’s mysteries.

I will say the extra exercise is doing wonders mentally and physically. I’ve noticed the ever-so-slight slimming in the waist (which will most assuredly go back to normal when I eat the box of M&M’s DD gave me last night).

It’s also gotten me back into a routine, and forced a better work/life balance (that, or my work is allowing me to BE more balanced right now). Whatever it is, I’ll take it!

Ed. Note: The morning after I posted this, I woke up early (yay!) and proceeded to break my toe. Maybe. This puts all workout goals on hold for the near future. Just can’t win!!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Goal setting: Update 1

  1. Glad to hear you’re doing great on your goals! And seriously, going to the gym at 9 p.m.? You deserve a medal. I wouldn’t even do that.

  2. It sounds like you are making huge strides with each goal! Good for you! I hope your family takes you up on the offer soon – it’s fun to host family meals.

    I love that variety in exercise makes me feel so rejuvenated! I think it’s the whole “ouch, I didn’t even know I had those muscles and now they’re sore” feeling! πŸ˜‰

  3. ria

    i love this idea of making a list of goals. i feel like i could benefit from this.

    wow the gym at 9pm is hardcore, i like to be in my pjs by then lol (you know you are old when…)

    hopefully you will get your family together at your place after the holidays! πŸ™‚

  4. I say overall, this is a huge accomplishment. Instead of knocking yourself for the one or two little things, why not look at it as an overall green. You’ve made some great changes to your life and might even be able to keep them up for months to come!

  5. Broke your toe? The worst! I wish I had the commitment you’ve had recently.

  6. Dude, you are freaking rocking it! Mixed bag or not, I think you’re doing awesome!

  7. walkingonsunshine18

    I like the red, yellow, green system… very clever! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

