A hop, skip, and three weeks

Just like that, nearly 20 days have passed since I stopped in at my little corner of the Interwebs.

I’ve  been thinking about the blog lately, and it’s crossed my mind several times over the past three weeks to just shut it down. Lack of time, lack of content…the excuses abound. But I’m not one that believes in locking doors permanently, so I’m here. For now.

One of my many resolutions for 2010 is to figure out what I’m doing with this place. More on that in another post. Because before we can get to the future, we’ve got to reflect on the past, right?

While there is a post brewing on the past long gone, today is about looking at the past barely behind me. In between thoughts of blog closures, I’ve spent the last 2 weeks on vacation and of course celebrating the holidays.

Christmas was lovely and I got most of what I asked for. Lots of kitchen utensils, which sounds boring, but they’re all things I want/need, but hate spending the money on!

DD and I divided time between both of our families, spending Christmas Eve with his and Christmas Day with mine. He and I have also gotten into the tradition of going to Christmas Eve mass together, just the two of us. It’s the only thing we do alone those two days. I don’t think he cares much about it, but I find it to be a special time for us to share together.

The rest of vacation was spent doing a lot of nothing. Unless you count sleeping until noon, watching at least 4 hours of TV a day, and rarely venturing out of sweats, something.

While it may be nothing, it did wonders for my mind. This week I returned to work fresh and perky, engaged in the work I needed to do, and ready to take on 2010.

At first, I thought I might regret not taking this short week off as well. DD is on vacation this week, as are several other friends and most of my own co-workers. But it was nice to come back to a quiet office and have some time for myself to refocus. I know that come Monday, the onslaught of post-vacation thoughts/ideas/to-do’s will be waiting, and having this week to get organized and prioritize will do wonders for keeping my sanity in tact.

There were a couple downsides to the time away. It gave me a glimpse into the negatives of living in the D. Don’t get me wrong, having the ability to walk to work and live mere blocks from DD and other friends are both big selling points. But when you’re not working (and your boyfriend and friends are), there’s not much to do in downtown Detroit. There are bars and restaurants all over the place, but sometimes, that’s just not enough.

Had I been more motivated, I could have driven or taken the bus the 2 miles up the road to the cozy Starbucks or Biggby Coffee, but I just never got around to it.

But when it came down to it, my couch and Netflix did just fine.

6 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit, family values, loft style living

6 responses to “A hop, skip, and three weeks

  1. I understand if life changes and the blog doesn’t fit into it anymore. Things always change. I hope you do keep blogging!

  2. I am pretty sure that re-upping my netflix subscription is on my 2010 to-do list!

  3. It’s nice to take a break every once in awhile. I’ve been pretty sporadic in my posting these last few months.

    It sounds like you and DD had a nice Christmas – I like the idea of doing something for just the two of you without the mad family stuff. PEACE is the meaning of the season 🙂

    (Also, if you do stay blogging – which would be nice! – could you please change to my new address in your blogroll? SGB is all gone and I’m at http://rebekahj81.com now. Thanks!)

  4. Don’t go! I never take off around the holidays because I don’t have to travel far to see family, but I know what you mean about being in an empty office, it’s nice to be able to catch up and do the things you never have time for. I hope you have a Happy New Year!

  5. ria

    i swear that chirstmas vacation is the only time i feel ok with staying in my pjs all day. i love it!

  6. i hear you on reevaluating the direction you’re going with the blog. im there too.

    wishing you a happy and healthy 2010!

Leave a Reply

