Never too late for resolutions

Come mid-January, I realize that resolution posts are sooo two weeks ago. But, there are an entire 365 days in the year and I say it’s never too late to decide you want to improve your life (or…decide you finally have time to blog about it!)

First, let’s look at how I did on the ’09 reso’s:

Using reusable bags. I use these nearly all the time now when it comes to my big grocery trips. In addition to being green, they are also 10 times easier to cart to my apartment now that I’ve moved into a larger building and my car isn’t right outside my door.

While the big trips have been a success, I do need to work on remembering to bring them when I do quick things, like a stop at CVS on the way home from work or a quick stop at Honeybee for a few staples. I always think of it as the clerk is pulling out that plastic bag and I always kick myself!

Less TV, more books. I’d say I’ve been 50/50 on this one. In the past few months, I’ve gotten better at reading before bed. I also joined a new book club, which has re-motivated me to get my nose in a book.

Cook more. Been doing well, especially since I moved to a nicer place with a better equipped kitchen and the addition of a dishwasher!!! I’ve also tried a few times to cook and freeze meals, which has helped on those nights I really don’t want to cook, but shouldn’t reach for the boxed mac & cheese!

So, I’ll continue to work on those…and I’m adding a few more to the list for 2010:

Eat better. Luckily, this goes with the cooking resolution from last year. I need to integrate more fruits and veggies in my diet and step away from the pasta. I’d also like to lessen the sugar in my diet. Diabetes runs in the family, and the last thing I need is more health issues.

Booting sugar means lowering the carbs and dessert — my two weaknesses. I’ve been playing with spaghetti squash, which is healthier than pasta, but still gives me that comfort food feeling. I don’t know that I’ll ever truly be able to say “no” to dessert, but I’ve tried not to keep it in the house, so it becomes less of a daily activity.

Make more out of the weekends. DD and I are known for taking full advantage of sleep time. It’s not unusual to stumble out of bed at noon on a Saturday or Sunday. Sad, no? There are many more productive things I could be doing.

So, I’ve started trying to get up early and I’ve been going to church again. The church thing is actually a bit selfish. When I do get married, I’d like it to be in the Catholic church, and us crazy Catholics like you to be a dues-paying member before we allow you to do such things. With a church just down the street from my apartment, I figured there’s no time like the present to give it a go. So far, it’s been a nice way to start my Sundays, and I already feel like I’m getting more done.

Participate more. My blog posts have become few and far between. My commenting has met a similar fate. DD has started traveling again for work, so I’m hoping that will motivate me to get back on a regular blogging schedule. I also want to participate more in 20sb and try to build more of a community.

Keep doing what I’m doing. Awhile back, I set a few goals for myself. Over the holidays, they kind of fell apart, what with my broken toe and the usual holiday rush. I hope to keep pursuing them in 2010. The whole getting up early thing hasn’t gone well, but I think I can continue to work on going to bed early, working out more, and getting back into yoga.

The resolutions are getting posted on the fridge as a daily reminder of the things I’m trying to accomplish this year. It’s a lot to work on, and I can’t say I have full confidence that they’ll all meet success, but I figure any progress is something!

How are your resolutions coming?

7 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), list mania, rambling nature

7 responses to “Never too late for resolutions

  1. walkingonsunshine18

    Great resolutions!!! 🙂 Yay for more books btw!!!

  2. It’s never too late for resolutions. I like this list very much. Actually, that’s probably because it looks very similar to my list of “resolutions” for 2010. Great minds think alike! 🙂

  3. I like your resolutions for the year, because they’re gradually building on things you’ve already started.

    Like you, my yoga workouts sort of fell apart over the holidays. I’m either going tomorrow or Sunday with a friend to get back into the swing of things.

  4. Resolutions are moving along. I really want to start running but seriously, my work schedule is so awful right now, I have no idea when I can start doing this. Otherwise, I’m making progress.

  5. I think I should take your approach and post mine on the fridge for motivation, and in my cube and in my car and my desk and the TV, etc.

  6. ria

    it’s never too late. great list! good luck 🙂 see you saturday! woo!

  7. Pingback: New Year. New You. « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

