A bloggeriffic weekend!

Typically, I’m not a fan of weekend recaps. I don’t think any of my weekends are particularly note-worthy, and even if they are, they’re a little too local for y’all in the vast Interwebs to give a shit about.

But this weekend was kind of epic, and the rare epic ones do deserve to be noted.

Friday night, DD and I headed to game night at a neighbor’s. A perfect event to end the week and ease into the weekend. Everyone brought a game, snack, and booze and we spent the evening Wii’ing, playing Scattergories (which this writer SUCKED at) and getting into quite the competitive game of Scene It.

Being the homebody I am, I was incredibly excited for game night. It’s also really exciting for me to be doing so much with the people in my neighborhood. Besides game night, we’ve done dinner parties, housewarmings, New Year’s Eve parties, and other fun activities.

This is the first place I’ve lived where I’ve known people in my neighborhood, and having the ability to get together with them is one of the reasons I moved to downtown Detroit. The next thing I’m thinking about organizing is a progressive dinner.

Saturday was spent reading and napping. But, I was able to get myself moving in time for a MI blogger meet-up! This is my second meet-up, but the first one where I actually got to meet bloggers in metro Detroit. There were about 7 of us, and after feeling like Detroit is completely devoid of 20-something bloggers for the past two years, it was really exciting to find out how wrong I was! Basically, Chicago and D.C. better watch out, because Detroit is on the blogger map!

I’d been reading Ria and Sillygrrl for years and it was exciting to see their cute faces in real life!  Lauryn, Jenni, Mandy, and Maeko are newer blogs in my reader, and I can’t wait to get caught up with their lives after meeting them.

Sillygrrl arranged a great night of dinner and bowling, and while I’m still clinging to anonymity around these parts, I’m sure if you wander to one of their blogs, you can sneak a peek at some of the photos!

Sunday, I headed to church (5 weeks running, that New Year’s Resolution is going fabulously!) and then came home to some Netflix, another nap, and finally some cleaning. The bathroom was starting to grow fur and the dust bunnies were overtaking the place!

How was your weekend?

11 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit, glass half full, loft style living, rambling nature

11 responses to “A bloggeriffic weekend!

  1. Yay! It was so good to meet you. We will have to plan another meetup soon!

  2. This makes me REALLY want to have a game night again soon. I have actually gotten into bruising smackdowns during SceneIt! And someday I need to get off my boo-tay and do something about St. Louis blogger meetups…. it was so fun to meet people at my Nintendo party last summer, and yet we’ve not done anything since then.

    Glad you had such a great weekend!

  3. ria

    another meet up soon! game night sounds like fun. like you i’m more of a homebody. it’s nice to get out once in awhile 🙂

  4. It was great meeting all of you! We definitely have to start planning another meet-up 🙂

  5. I LOVE game night! In fact, I’m going to one on Friday, yay!

  6. It was so great to meet you this past weekend. Seriously, I had so much fun and am so happy that I’ve found a new friend not only online but in real life. I can’t wait until our next get together. 🙂
    ps- maybe you can host a game night with all the blogging ladies next time 😉 I love game nights!

  7. that meetup just sounds like so much fun. glad you guys had such a great time!

  8. Aww that sounds like a lot of fun. Bloggy meetups are the best.

  9. walkingonsunshine18

    It sounds like all you bloggers had a fabulous time!!!

  10. You’re in my reader too, and I’m pretty darn excited about it.

    It was so good to meet you this weekend. I feel like we’ve all got a lot of kindred spiriting going on, even though all of us are definitely different, unique little snowflakes.

    I love your header. My husband used to live in that area (that’s heading down Woodward, though, right?).

  11. I love discovering new bloggers that are just around the corner. Glad you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

