On adulthood

As I quickly approach the big 2-9 (Which frankly? Is giving me more of a panic attack than the thought of turning 30 does) I’ve realized that those carefree days of my early 20s have been solidly replaced by…wait for it …

ADULTHOOD.

First, there’s the simple things, like what I choose to eat. While I still love a box of Mac & Cheese, it’s no longer the only thing I can cook. It’s also no longer something that I can eat without feeling guilty about the unhealthiness of it all.

Then, there’s the reading choices. My magazine rack used to be comprised solely of Cosmo. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still checking up on the latest sex tips and trends (that are basically repeated every other month in a different way), my new favorite mag is Real Simple. Oh the organization techniques! And healthy recipes! And “real simple” design tips! My mother got me a subscription as a gift and I stare at it every night, waiting for just the right time when I can completely devote an evening to its fabulous pages.

Speaking of Cosmo, let’s look at the relationship choices. Back in those wild early 20s, my relationship “must” was solidly in the physical category. Sure, I find DD hot, but our physical relationship is nowhere near as hot and heavy as my other relationships have been. Apparently, your late 20s make you realize that while the booty is important, it’s not the most important. The fact that he takes care of me and respects me more than any other man I’ve known is what truly matters.

(I sound like my mother.)

Finally, there’s the financial choices. I set up an IRA this week, folks. I have a retirement account through work, but I’ve been talking about setting up a Roth IRA for years. Years! Apparently, being on the down side of 28 gets the wheels turning because in a matter of 20 minutes I transferred a large sum of money out of the liquidity that I loved as a fresh career gal and into the sunset of my life.

(I sound like my father.)

I suppose adulthood doesn’t have me completely in its hold:

  • I hate NPR. I want to love it, but it just puts me to sleep.
  • I have no need for cable news. After years of relying on local news, I’ve gotten used to being out of the loop on what’s going on in the world most of the time. If it isn’t on Facebook or Twitter, it’s clearly not important.
  • On a Saturday, I’m much more likely to sleep until noon than do anything remotely productive or resembling “errands” or “housework”.
8 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), glass half full, Hmm, relationships

8 responses to “On adulthood

  1. I LOVE this post.

    I also kind of love NPR, which really makes me feel like my mother. And, I’ve recently become quite captivated by my ability to fix things myself and be all handy around the house, which kind of makes me feel like my father.

    If anything, as I get older, more and more I find myself saying things like, “I am my mother’s/father’s daughter.” But, I like this. Because it makes me feel as though I am coming into my own through the lessons they taught—the lessons that I am finally getting.

    To 29!! 🙂

  2. Hannah – we are our parents’ children. It’s scary, really, but also inevitable. But I suppose it’s not such a bad thing, either!

  3. We just made an appointment with a financial planner, so yeah, at 34 and 36, we have officially entered adulthood.

    Though, personally, I dumped Real Simple years ago (cute mag, but repeated ideas caused me grief) and can’t live without NPR during my commute. Guess adulthood is an evolving thing!

  4. walkingonsunshine18

    Adulthood is scary! People expect you to make decisions and all that other scary stuff.. it’s not as fun as I hoped it would be when I was a kid

  5. Amy

    I’m in total agreement with all this and wondering how my 21 year old self is handling seeing me at 25 and being all responsible.

  6. I loved this post, too. I realized I was firmly a woman in adulthood rather than a girl going through whatever is before adulthood. Being a kid?

    I think I grew up when I made the cross-country trek from San Diego to Detroit for a man I met on the internet. The change of the culture and the people and the stark reality that I no longer had my parents as fall backs in case I foolishly failed at life forced me to grow up and manage to learn how to make my own mistakes and mature from them.

    I also learned that I’m quite the cook with a few creative recipes. I went from a rabid meat eater to a vegetarian, from a semi-environmentally aware citizen to a full-fledged eco nazi, and I learned the same lessons on love and sex that you did. I did the whole retirement thing, learned about health insurance, car insurance, all insurances… I learned how to budget, clean up my finances, and finally sucked it up, stopped dropping classes and finished university.

    Like you, I went from women’s glossies like Glamour or Marie Claire to Real Simple, which also has wonderful fashion choices as well as the many, many fantastic nutritional and organizational options that you enumerated.

    Unlike you, however, I love LOVE LOVE NPR. I love its musical reviews, its movie critiques, its thoughtful social exploratory essays, and its constant international news information… It’s across the board. I find all my favourite new artists there, I hear about the best movies there and I learn the days local and international issues there… it’s all I listen to when I’m not watching TV. 🙂

    BUt yeah… I rather like getting older than being young. My early twenties were depression filled, angsty and listless. I was drifting a lot without direction, and between the highs the lows were very, very low… I’m happy being old. Except for when I call the young’uns “street walkers.”

    Woo, that was long. Sorry about that.

  7. ria

    i am in love with real simple. i need to get myself a subscription. it’s funny how adulthood creeps up on us!

  8. I consider myself a mix of adult and teen. I still eat cereal for dinner and hate NPR as well. Reading is definitely more magazines than books. Guess I hve some stuff to still work on

Leave a Reply

