Friday Foto, Week 5

This week has kicked my ass. I suppose that’s typical for any post-vacation first week. But, honestly, it’s been this way since 2010 started. I don’t know what it is, but while the year is flying by, each week feels like an entire year on its own.

Obviously, I’m thrilled that it’s Friday. I’ve got some fun stuff planned this weekend, including volunteering and DD’s nephews’ birthday party.

Before we get to that, though, it’s time for another Foto Friday!

In case you haven’t noticed, I like food. Luckily, Detroit kind of rocks on the food front. We’ve got neighborhoods that specialize in Polish, Greek, Middle Eastern, and Mexican. Not to mention the one-off restaurants that do their thing and do it well.

Mexicantown is in Southwest Detroit — you’ll recall my recent Foto Friday about their local supermercado. In addition to buying quality Mexican food, Mexicantown also has a host of fabulous restaurants where I can have the food served to me.

There are a couple “tourist” favorites, and then there’s the local hangouts. Evie’s Tamales is one such local joint and when I want Mexican, it’s where I head.

If restaurants can be considered “dives”, Evie’s would fit the description perfectly. Sure, it’s clean and friendly, but it’s tiny, cramped, and, well, perfectly homey. Walking in, you may find the Cinco de Mayo decor up from last Cinco de Mayo. It’s a seat yourself kind of place, and the tables mostly seat 4 or 8. During busy times, I’ve nearly had to join strangers to eat my lunch.

Hey, it’s a way to meet new people!

The menu is simple and has all your faves. Chicken mole, enchiladas, tacos, and of course tamales. While I’m not a tamale fan, I hear they make the best in town. My typical meal is the cheese enchilada lunch special for $5. Basic, yes. But cheesy, saucy, Mexican goodness? At Evie’s, I’m never disappointed. Between the enchiladas and the saucy salsa (I prefer saucy to chunky), I find it hard to leave.

To top it off, there’s a free cookie for the road. The cookies won’t win any high class baking awards, but I still can’t pass one up.

The only downside is that, to my knowledge, they don’t have a liquor license. They also close early-ish, so it really is more of a lunch spot than a dinner spot. But it’s a spot nonetheless.

5 Comments

Filed under Detroit, foodie, Friday Foto, glass half full

5 responses to “Friday Foto, Week 5

  1. Owning a restaurant is a tough business where you generally work long hours. If they’ve got a business plan that gets them home at a decent hour, who’s to knock it, right?! Love this write-up … makes me wish I lived in Detroit to go try it out!

  2. Linda Solomon

    I love this place. I usually get a big carry out order of tamales and freeze them. Delish.
    I have been enjoying your blog for awhile. You rock!

  3. I had tamales from Evie’s a loooong time ago before I was veggie and they were so good!

  4. I agree that Detroit does have some great eateries! I’ve never been to Evie’s but I’ve heard good things about it. Maybe we can all try there one day 🙂 Gosh now you’ve got me wanting Mexican. YUM!

  5. Sounds delicious!! I miss Southwest Detroit. I haven’t had decent Mexican in about… forever.

Leave a Reply

