Baby fever

I never thought I’d say this, but it’s happened.

I’ve got baby fever.

(Seriously. Click on the link. You’ll see how unlikely I thought this was).

I think I know where it’s coming from. One of my best friends had a baby last summer; the first of my friends to start popping out these little bundles of joy. And then this week, a friend of DD’s — who I’ve also grown close to — had a lovely little one.

I’ve watched his friend throughout her entire pregnancy and as her belly grew, so did my envy. It wasn’t envy in a green-eyed or malicious way, but rather, a realization that it was something I wanted too. For the past few years, I’ve been proud to say that my biological clock isn’t even turned on, so it’s a realization that’s coming as a bit of a surprise.

I think the envy is also coming from a realization that I’m nowhere near the point of having one. While friends are truly settling down by procreating, DD and I are barely on the subject of marriage. It’s there, but it has to be handled with care. So the subject of my own procreation some day is an even more distant thought.

I know I have many good childbirth years ahead of me, so there’s no need to go all biological clock crazy on him. I also know that right now this is more of a baby fever, not a full-blown child fever. One evening with his nephews, ages 7 and 9, makes me want to run screaming for my birth control.

But rocking a fussy baby to sleep using my inherent momma sway does make me think that maybe, just maybe, I can do it one day.

12 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), family values, glass half full, Hmm

12 responses to “Baby fever

  1. Ohh, I sooo relate to this post. For years, I thought I might not want children. Everything about kids either freaked or grossed me out. And now that both of my sisters have little ones? Yeah, I kind of can’t wait for my turn.

  2. little babies make me swoon and think how awesome it would be to have one, but then i spend the day with my 7, 11 and 12 year old stepbrothers and think “ehhh, no rush.” they need to stay babies for much longer, in my opinion. 😀

  3. I’m kind of getting there too, watching my baby niece grow (she’s almost 2) and watching my brother and sister-in-law as parents – and now preparing for another baby in July! Eddie and I are also at that precarious maybe-marriage discussion, so we definitely aren’t talking babies. I’m a lot more comfortable and heading toward wanting that sooner though – I used to be terrified!

    But I think I’m in a good place, even if it sometimes feels weird to think of myself changing this way. I think we BOTH can do this someday!

  4. I’ll admit I’m feeling it too. For the longest time I didn’t want kids and then suddenly, I did. My mom sure is happy about that hahah

  5. I’ve always known I’d like to have children “one day” … but even now at 36, it’s still one day and not right now.

    Hope you’re able to get a sense of whether having kids “one day” is on DD’s radar, too. It’s good information for you to have, you know?

  6. ria

    i go back and forth so much and to very opposite ends of the spectrum. sometimes babies gross me the F out and other times after seeing my adorable cousin pregnant yesterday I swing the other way.

  7. You’re further along on the baby trail than I as at least you’ve got a man around that you could have him submit his part of the deal on. 😉 I do think kids are great and I adore them but I know for sure I’m not ready (mostly financially) for them.

  8. walkingonsunshine18

    That’s not even in my thoughts right now, but I love looking and holding little babies 🙂

  9. I understand baby fever. i feel it recently too because I’ve been a baby whisperer. It gives me hope that one day it might be more for me, but definitely not right now.

  10. Aw! I know what you mean, I think that if I had a friend who was pregnant I would be turning inside out… but luckily none of my friends have started and aren’t planning on it. I’m safe from the serious fever for now! =)

  11. You know, I have a bunch of friends who are popping out kids and while I get these momentary rushes of “Awww, so cute, you made a baby, I wanna touch your belly,” I quickly realize I am in no way ready to take care of another person. I will just borrow their children until I’m ready. 🙂

  12. I’ve always known that I want to be a mom someday, but those times I see kids screaming and throwing fits in public make me want to hold off for another ten years or so, lol.

Leave a Reply

