Friday Foto: Luck o’ the Irish

Yes, I’ve been slacking. I’ve been gone the majority of the week, but have plenty to share with you next week!

In the meantime, I have a Friday Foto!

This week’s photo marries one wonderful thing — St. Patrick’s Day — with one somewhat wonderful thing — running.

On the Sunday before St. Patrick’s Day, Detroit hosts a St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Corktown, one of the city’s oldest neighborhoods. Prior to the parade, there’s a 5K race that starts and ends at the train station I’ve mentioned before.

The race is the epitome of a fun run, with many runners completing the course with a beer in hand and others dressed in crazy costumes. My personal favorite was the leprechaun and pot of gold.

This was my first year seeing the race and parade. It was rainy and cold, but I had several friends running so I wanted to cheer them on. Afterward, I met up with them and DD to watch bits of the parade.

The parade is nothing special. Irish families walk the route with banners proclaiming their family name. There are a few cars and almost no floats. But the rag tag event still draws a crowd.

We meandered along the route and eventually found ourselves in what can only be described as a blind pig. A friend of a friend owns one of the abandoned buildings in the area and is in the process of renovating it. We were able to stop in for a quick drink and a blast of warmth, which was nice.

While I wish the weather had been better, it was still a great way to spend a Sunday and celebrate St. Patrick’s Day, especially since I wasn’t able to take part in any festivities on Wednesday.

5 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit, Friday Foto, loft style living

5 responses to “Friday Foto: Luck o’ the Irish

  1. If it makes you feel better, Chicago’s version of the St. Patrick’s Day race (ours is called the Shamrock Shuffle) is this coming Sunday. Nothing special about that other than we’re supposed to get 1-2 INCHES OF SNOW on Saturday night. My husband and I have plans to run this 5-mile race. The question now remains whether to wear my running shoes or snow boots!!!

  2. A good friend, and co-worker, of mine runs every year in this race. This was the first year in many that I haven’t went down to cheer her on and celebrate with a few drinks. I blame it on the rain. πŸ™‚

  3. ria

    aw bummer about the weather. i was kind of crappy. it looks like fun though, i wonder why i’ve never gone down…

  4. There is a similar run in Chicago, the Shamrock Shuffle and we have notoriously awful weather for it too. This year there will be snow yet again. But beer at the end πŸ™‚

  5. We’ve got a parade in Boston that got drenched, but I didn’t go.

Leave a Reply

