Absent

It’s obvious I haven’t been around. It also shouldn’t be a secret that about the time DD stops traveling, I stop blogging. I long for the weeks when he actually stays in town, and when it happens, I tend to focus on him and not this.

Hope you’ll forgive me!

In an effort to catch up, here’s what’s new with me:

  • I’ve been rocking out the early a.m. work outs. Going at least twice a week, even with DD home, which I consider a feat. It’s so hard to get out of a warm cozy bed, but it’s slightly easier when you’re sleeping alone. With him in the mix, it’s just that much tougher. But I’m persevering and still feeling good on those early days.
  • I signed up for an art class on a whim. Last week I was thinking about life and my tendency to need routine. Every once in awhile, I decide that I need to break routine. This time, that’s manifesting itself in a Drawing for Beginners class. I’m a little excited and a little nervous — the class was more than I’d like to spend for some little ole’ continuing ed hobby, and I’m afraid I’ll start it and hate it. I’ve never been much for drawing, but for some reason, I’m interested now. We’ll see!
  • I got a bike! I’m rather excited to tool around Detroit in it. I figure I can take it to Eastern Market and also use it for some lovely scenic rides so that will add to my work out routine.
  • DD and I have sort of started a routine of walking in the evenings when we can. We’ve got a nice little 3-4 mile loop along the Detroit River and it’s just enough that we feel healthy, but not so much we feel dead. It’s also some nice QT with the added benefit of fresh air.
  • I’ve kind of become obsessed with Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution on ABC. I’m not quite sure why — I think it has a lot to do with his accent — but it’s also an interesting premise. It’s not high drama reality TV, but perhaps reality TV that can actually accomplish some good.

All in all, life is pretty damn good these days. Spring has finally sprung and while I’m sure we’ll get hit with another cold snap before it sets in for good, I’m excited by all the potential activities the season holds. And I’m really excited by all the fitness activities. While I’m not trying to drop pounds, I am trying to get daily exercise, which is much more than I usually strive for.

What’s new with you?

12 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), Detroit, glass half full, list mania, loft style living, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Absent

  1. You go girl on the a.m. workouts. Oh my gosh I wish I could do it. Glad to see you posting again πŸ™‚

  2. I love evening walks, especially after dinner. It’s so calming and helps your food digest too. If only it would get warm enough here for us to enjoy a nice evening stroll!

  3. Sheesh, considering how early you wake up already? There is absolutely no way on earth I could ever wake up and work out in the morning. I can barely wake up for work as it is.

  4. I love that you and DD are taking nightly walks when he’s in town. On nights Sweets and I can’t drag ourselves to the gym, we always make sure to grab the dog and take a nice, long walk, too. We always have fun looking at which single-family homes are for sale and guessing how much we think they cost (and then looking them up online when we get home).

  5. I think a blogging break does us all some good now and then!

    Jason and I have been watching Jamie Oliver’s new show too! I love it! The way kids eat these days is sad and horrifying, so it’s nice to see someone trying to change that!

    • A Super Girl

      It’s completely ridiculous! I suppose we ate that food when we were in school too. What really makes me crazy is how the parents feed their kids when they’re home. I feel like I always at least got fresh or cooked from scratch food at home, even if I was eating the processed stuff at school.

  6. I’m so impressed that you can get up early to workout. I forced myself to do it when I had a training that messed with my normal lunchtime workout. But I don’t think I could have kept it up after that week!

  7. Everyone is getting bikes lately, and it makes me really want one, even though I’m terrified to ride on the street!! Ah, the tortuous decisions of the middle class πŸ˜‰

  8. ria

    i was starting to miss you!!! ugh i don’t know how you work out in the morning! more power to you πŸ™‚

  9. Life sounds lovely in your neck of the woods. πŸ™‚

    And I’ve been wanting to sign up for a drawing class, too!! I’m thinking it’ll have to wait until the fall, but I’m already sooo excited for it. You’ll have to let me know how your class goes!

  10. Yay for the art class! Yay for the bike! Yay for the nighttime walks (I’m jealous)! And yay for early am workouts!
    I’m so jealous of you right now. Yay for you! πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: New Year. New You. « A Super Girl

Leave a Reply

