Prep work

As I close in on 30, I’m finding myself taking on a lot of what I’ll call “prep work” in anticipation of the next decade of my life. It’s mostly couched in other things, but in the back of my head I know there’s a greater reason.

Behavior: Going to church
Couched in: Be a good Catholic, Grow in your faith
Underlying reason: I need a church to get married in and a place to start my faith development in my marriage/baby-making, etc.

Behavior: Getting up and working out at 6 a.m. routinely
Couched in: Be healthy and productive
Underlying reason: Someday I’ll have kids and won’t be able to sleep all day. And right now, my morning person skills are pretty horrid.

It’s funny how all this self-improvement has occurred in the past 6 months. It’s as if a light switch went off and I realized “Oh Shit. It’s time to be an adult.” Friends laugh at all my underlying reasons and all this prep that I’m doing. After all, I’m not engaged (though it feels like it’s getting closer…) and I’m a looooong way away from birthing any babies.

Yet I know these are the next phases of my life. And I know I’m woefully unprepared for both (more so the kid part, but even marriage is rather daunting.)

So though I get teased, I don’t think it’s a bad idea to do a little prep. I’m doing things that are overall good for me and my ongoing well-being. Who cares if I also happen to be an over-planner?

Tell me, what do you find yourself preparing for?

9 Comments

Filed under crazy crazy, Hmm

9 responses to “Prep work

  1. I love your underlying reason for going to church. I feel like that is why a lot of mid-20 somethings start going. 🙂
    I’m not doing any prep for anything. Horrible, right?! Except maybe trying to eat better because I don’t want to die early. That’s prep, right?

  2. I’m pretty bad about prepping for much of anything in life. In some ways, I wouldn’t change a thing (it’s more about living in the present for me). And in other ways, I really wish I was more of a planner (hello funding my retirement!).

  3. I know exactly what you mean. I’m starting by pushing my wine habit to only weekends.

  4. Hey, I think it’s great that you’re “prepping” and becoming a new and improved you 🙂 I have noticed that as I get older, I appreciate my life more and want to work more to make it better. Granted, I’m still super lazy most of the time, but I’m getting there!

  5. Wow I love that you’re getting up at 6 a.m. That is amazing and dedicated. I would be dead by 3 p.m., LOL. Keep going though and keep me motivated to try it too!

  6. ria

    i’m sure i’m subconsciously prepping for things to come but i’m kind of still screaming, “i don’t want to be an adult yet”. lol

  7. I admire your attitude and preparation…we’ll all have to change our habits quite a bit when we enter that phase of life. I’m not sure how prepared we’ll end up being after all is said and done, though. But planning is the first step!

  8. I’m FINALLY going back to school and I plan on sticking to it and finishing this time. I want to be able to provide for my family!

  9. I think I feel the same way… but one thing I know for sure, I could never 100% go back to church. I just feel way too conflicted over organized religion and hypocrisy to go back. I prefer to worship out of doors, with myself and the Universe/God communing.

Leave a Reply

