How I spent my summer vacation: The birthday

As a final nail in the recap posts, I figured I’d touch on my birthday, way back in June.

It passed earlier this summer without much fanfare. On the Monday before, I found myself at a Marine’s funeral. Then came the work meetings and the book club and the catch up and the general things that life brings.

When the weekend arrived, it didn’t seem to warrant much celebration. Frankly, after two weekends of dealing with death and family, we probably would have preferred to collapse in bed and sleep for a weekend. But, DD and I had long before booked a little jaunt to Windsor, Ontario, for dinner.

I can practically see Canada from my apartment, but I hadn’t been since I was 19 and it was the only place I could legally drink. So, I was excited to go for dinner and we found a great little place in Little Italy. DD got me a new and much improved yoga mat and other gear. Low-key, but just what we  both needed to get back into the swing of life.

What IS noteworthy is that it was the last birthday of my 20s. The next time June 13 comes around, I’ll be celebrating the big 3-0. While I’m not one to be all whoa is me about the impending end of my 20s, I am one to give it pause.

After a brief conversation with DD last spring, I’m relatively confident I’ll be engaged by the time I’m 30. So there’s that.

More recently, I’ve been thinking that the next decade may mean lots of changes. Changes in career. Changes in my status as a non-mother. Maybe even health changes. I can’t help but think that all of these things are inevitable. Isn’t that the way life works?

My 20s were pretty stable. The love life was rocky, but I found my compliment. The career was a rock. Through thick and thin, I’ve been there since I graduated college. Aside from a kidney transplant, the health was pretty stable as well.

It was good. But I’m probably due for something different. Will my career demand a new direction? Will my health take a turn? These transplanted kidneys don’t last forever, you know.

I think I’m ready for a new decade and all the changes that come with it. There may be a few I’m a bit terrified of — hello, motherhood! hello, second transplant! — but overall, I’m excited. (Except for that second transplant. That can hold off forever if I have my way.)

30 has a good ring to it. Now, let’s just see if I’m wearing a ring when it comes along!

6 Comments

Filed under DD (aka My Man), decisions, foodie, glass half full, loft style living, rambling nature, relationships, transplant, Y is for Yoga

6 responses to “How I spent my summer vacation: The birthday

  1. Oh, that’s exciting stuff! I’m glad you had a lovely low-key birthday, and I hope it’s a great close-out to your 20s 🙂

  2. DD just won me over a little bit more with his gift of a yoga mat and gear. Good man, I say. Good man.

    I’ll be saying good-bye to my 20s in less than four months. I’m not feeling very “woe is me” either, but I do think this change of decades warrants pause….and a whole lot of celebration!!!

  3. Great post. I found the last year of my 20s to be a big time of change again, especially with the big birthday looming, but turns out, it’s not so scary and so far, the 30s have been VERY refreshing.

  4. You go girl. After my 10-year reunion came and went, I also got to thinking about what another decade will bring. Weird to think about!

  5. Well congrats on 29 fabulous years! You’ll have to really live up this last year of your twenties with things like pole dancing classes and chocolate fondue, hehe 🙂

  6. ria

    this year is going to be amazing!

Leave a Reply

