A blockage

So, now that NaBloPoMo is done, I thought it’d be a good idea to start blogging again. Ironic, no?

Really, though. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about this whole writing thing and well, I’ve been dealing with a pretty intense case of writer’s block. And I’d say it’s still a long way from being cured.

But, here I am. Taking the first step.

As bad as writer’s block is for the blog, it’s even worse for the 9 to 5. You know, where I get paid to write? Let me tell you, it’s been rough coming up with corporate-speak on demand the past few months.

To be honest, it’s more than writer’s block. In fact, the stuff at the 9 to 5 is really more than I can even get into here. But, it’s been a big factor in dragging me down for the last few months. Increasingly I feel undervalued, and often, unnecessary. For a girl who strives to be busy and be an integral part of the team, it’s been really hard for me to watch the world spin without any help from me. It’s been really hard figuring out what exactly my role is on a team I’ve been a part of for nearly four years at a company I’ve been at for over six years.

But, I’m persevering. Enjoying the quiet and taking time off. Taking advantage of a normal work day and indulging in yoga and other personal activities that just didn’t fit in when I was working 50+ hour weeks. Working on overcoming some of my weaknesses. Taking a lot of deep breaths.

A lot of deep breaths.

3 Comments

Filed under career, writing, Y is for Yoga

3 responses to “A blockage

  1. Welcome back! So good to see you posting again. I totally understand the writer’s block thing. I’m right there with you!

  2. Pingback: My Obituary « A Super Girl

  3. Ohhh, my friend. It all begins with the deep breaths. From there, anything is possible.

    Glad to see you’re back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

