Mission Accomplished OR the one where I got a new job

Just one short month into 2011, and I’ve already accomplished what I set out to do.

I got a new job. A fresh start.

Obviously, this was all in the works when I wrote that post a few weeks ago. I was fairly certain things were going to work out so I figured, why not set a goal I know I can achieve?!

I know, I know, cheaters never win.

In reality, this goal has been far from easy. I’ve been job searching on and off for the better part of three years. Then, the past six months happened. At various times last year, I was told by my co-workers and superiors that I dress too casually, that I should be questioning my role on my team, and that I’m not good at certain aspects of my job.

It’s been fun. Or, you know, the opposite of that.

Which is why, out of pure desperation, I applied for a job that I figured I had a shot in hell of getting. It’s a complete departure from my career field in an industry in which I have no experience.

But then…I got it.

And now I find myself diving head-first into the unknown, with the hope that this new work environment will be so much more supportive of me and my goals.

As great a job as it is, it comes with trade-offs.

I’m moving from a career in marketing to one in project management. I’ve always had lofty goals of advancing in the marketing/communications field, but lately the field has left me quite the Bitter Betty. I’m tired of what I call the “Monday Morning Marketers”, who think they know how to communicate a message solely because they have a Facebook page. The field has become so competitive and has developed such a low barrier to entry that I’m just done. I’ve finally recognized that I don’t have all the answers, that I don’t want to fight about those answers, and that I really just don’t care.

Not only am I shifting careers, but my new career will involve little to no writing — something that I swore would always be at the center of my career. That is, until I lived through constant criticism over my writing. To make things worse, it’s writing that I could really care less about. As I’ve said before, it’s tough to focus on personal writing when I come up with corporate-speak for 40+ hours a week.

I’ve always been passionate about writing, but that passion has been slowly pushed into a dark cave. These days, I rarely write for myself, no matter how much I say I’m going to. I’ve recognized that I have a great voice, but that voice doesn’t necessarily translate well into corporate-speak. And that I shouldn’t have to make it. I’ve also recognized that the problem with turning your passions into work is that they become just that — work.

Trade-offs.

I’m not saying this move isn’t going to be really freakin’ hard. It’s an industry with itsΒ  own form of competition and strife. It’s an entirely new job function that I once said I never saw myself pursuing. And it’s an entirely new commute — from 4 blocks to 30 miles. But, it’s a fresh start. And right now, that trumps any4 block commute.

11 Comments

Filed under career, decisions

11 responses to “Mission Accomplished OR the one where I got a new job

  1. so happy for you! i know you’ve been wanting this for awhile. new ventures usually turn out as exciting as they are intimidating, so i’m sure you will have a blast and it will turn out awesome. πŸ™‚

  2. Allthewine

    Congrats!! Change can be really motivating!!

  3. I’m so happy for you! I know how you feel about having your passion push into a dark cave – that’s how I felt about designing. Can’t wait to hear more about your new job – I know you’ll kick ass πŸ™‚

  4. Wait to go on the new job! That is such great news. It’s awesome that you went after it and got it, I’m so happy for you!

  5. Congratulations! Way to make a courageous decision and go with it.

  6. Fantastic news!!! I’m so happy for you and it sounds like this job will be so much better for your sanity. Good luck with the transition πŸ™‚

  7. Congrats on your new job and best wishes on a fresh start.

  8. ria

    congrats on the new job!!! i can’t wait to hear about it πŸ™‚

  9. I’m so excited for you! Can’t wait to hear more about this new position!

Leave a Reply

