Current events

Is this thing on?

Let’s forgo all the usual excuses about why this poor little blog has been barren these past weeks, shall we? I’m breaking the hiatus to talk about something much more important:

Current events. And my lack of knowledge about them.

Picture it…You’re me. One day not so long ago, you decide to enjoy a leisurely lunch in your office cafeteria with a few co-workers. The talk is mild enough — vacation destinations — and you mention that Greece is your next big travel to-do. The table agrees, though one co-worker laughs while saying “just stay out of Athens.” Instead of responding with a knowing commentary on the recent global financial disaster and the violence in the streets that had been occurring just days before, you look at her blankly.

Because you have no idea the any of the above has actually taken place.

Back in the day, I considered myself up on what was going on in the world. I was an award-winning forensics nerd in the extra-geeky Broadcasting category. I could read the news and write original and thought-provoking editorials on said news in 30 minutes flat. Hell, my degree is in Journalism and my first job out of college was in media relations — meaning I had to read the paper and know the news in order to pitch my company’s news to the media.

I’m starting to see why that job didn’t work out.

Since I moved out of my parents house and gave up cable, I rely on local TV news. I prefer checking my Facebook 10 times a day to surfing the local paper or CNN.com. I tell DD that if it’s not on Facebook or Twitter, it must not be important.

Until a couple weeks ago, this news gathering tactic had worked just fine. My social media outlets have stood by me through thick and thin, never leading me astray in any current events convo.

I suppose even social media has its shortcomings. After the Grecian Gaffe, I thought maybe I should leave my little bubble and start clicking over to the national and international Interwebs.

And then I promptly forgot about it.

Until I came home early today and turned on Oprah. To find Fergie (the Brit, not the Pea) doing an exclusive interview. I’d seen previews for the show, and had been wondering what all the fuss was about. After all, isn’t she so 1990?

For the second time, I had missed the news.

Obviously, I need to find a solution so I can get back to my previous role as Scintillating Conversationalist at Parties with Smart People.

The thing is, I’m kind of anti news feeds. I tried it once and it didn’t turn my crank. I hated having my reader overflowing with double digit postings in one day. If I missed a day (or three) my reader would collapse under the weight of them all. It made it annoying to skim and so I just gave up.

I’m thinking I need to reconsider. But I’m appealing to all of you, who are so much more tech savvy than I. Are there any good news feeds I should know about? Perhaps a feed or two that provides a daily round-up instead of instant updates multiple times a day?

10 Comments

Filed under career, Excuse me while I trip on myself, rambling nature

10 responses to “Current events

  1. This happens to the best of us. We all live in some sort of bubble at least some of the time. I get a lot of my news from following certain news agencies on Twitter. I get headlines and only click through to stories if it’s interesting (mostly pop culture articles, to be honest). I live in Canada so the big one I follow is @globeandmail.

  2. I don’t watch a lot of news either, minus the weather and stories leading up to it or the TODAY show. The Fergie thing did catch me by surprise but if you watch that tape, it’s PRETTY damning. Geez.

  3. I subscribe to the WBUR daily news email. It’s a good way to get some news basics if I don’t get a chance to listen to NPR in the morning.

  4. I don’t subscribe to a feed, but I generally click over to CNN.com once a day or so to see what the top news stories are. But I’m like you, I’m definitely not up on every news story out there. CNN manages to keep me fairly informed though πŸ˜‰

  5. I’m almost as clueless as you, but because I work at a TV station people expect me to know whats going on from disasters half way around the world to a car accident on Hayes. After running a womens organization for a few years and drowning myself in news, I stay away from it as much as possible. If something is important it generally breaks trough the fog at work, but I don’t know the details. I know there were riots in Greece, but couldn’t tell you why. And I’m pretty OK with that.

  6. I’m a news snob. I almost never watch the local news and rarely watch national news (cable nor network). I don’t even read local papers all that often. For me, the most interesting daily news stories come from NPR (BIG advocate!), New York Times, Wall Street Journal and/or the Financial Times. Weekly news, definitely the Economist and the New Yorker (though, don’t let the New Yorker be your only news feed). I say, if you’re going to try to find a news feed that fits your needs, go with one of the stronger news organizations to make sure you’re getting the biggest bang for your buck.

  7. It’s not a news feed, but I go through Huffington Post every day and just get the front pages of Politics, Media, Sports, Entertainment, Tech – just a quick glance kind of cues me in about what’s going on.

  8. I am so you. The only reason I knew about Greece is because I work at the place bailing them out πŸ™‚

    That said, I’ve found a cheat. I get the NY Times email every morning and skim, just to make sure I’m not missing anything huge.

  9. I’m totally with you on this one. I’ve been so busy lately that I’ve haven’t been keeping up on current events. It’s not that I don’t care, I just haven’t been able to sit in front of the news or read articles online because spare time has been scarce ’round these parts!

  10. Like Lauryn, I’m with you on this one. Unless it’s on Twitter (or the front page of Yahoo) I don’t know it’s happening. The worst part about this whole situation is that I don’t even care. I feel as though if it’s important enough, someone will tell me about it sooner or later. Hopefully sooner, but with how quickly some people tweet sometimes, it might be at least a few hours πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment